Spinach Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
My family really liked this recipe. I did however make several alterations to keep it from being a bit bland. I like dishes with plenty of flavor and of course garlic is a must of me. Here are some changes that I made and it worked out great. I pounded out the chicken to an even thickness. Added 2 cloves crushed garlic to the green onions and butter. I grated probably 3/4 of a cup of fresh parm. Added salt and pepper along with the italian seasoning to the fresh grated parm cheese mixture. Instead of 1/2 C milk, I did 1 C of a milk and sour cream mixed. I mixed with more sour cream than milk just as long as it totalled 1 Cup. I added a pinch of cayanne pepper and salt to the milk mixture during the simmering phase. I put the whole 10oz pkg of frozen spinach and I also added to that a whole package of sauteed mushrooms that I had sauteed in butter and salted. I also substituted the pimentoes for roasted red peppers as did someone else in the reviews. I ended up putting in about 1/2 cup of chopped roasted red peppers in with the spinach and mushrooms. Because there was plenty of vegetables in the mixture, I didn't serve with a side dish of veggies, just a side of herb roated potato pieces. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was delicious!! I added some breadcrumbs to the parmesan cheese coating mixture and sauteed some garlic in with the butter for the sauce and added some salt & pepper as well. I omitted the onions (we don't like them) and the pimentos (didn't have any). I also pounded the chicken out to about 3/4 inch so it was uniform in thickness. I baked the chicken alone for 15 minutes and then put the spinach mixture on top for the last 15 minutes so it wouldn't dry out. That worked very well. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I liked this. I used the original recipe for inspiration but changed a few things. I pounded the chicken, dusted it in flour and browned it for 3-4 minutes per side. I chopped up some fresh baby spinach (instead of the frozen) and sauteed it in the water left on the leaves from washing, then drained and set aside until I was ready to add it to the sauce as instructed. I used real grated parmesan (bought a block and grated it). mmmmm ... and cooked fettucine on the side. I put some butter/garlic/basil on the fettucine, then added the leftover sauce once I took the chicken out of the baking dish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was really good. I sauted regular onions in the butter first and before I added the flour I added some garlic and some red pepper flakes. I used fresh spinach because I had some that need to be used. I always brine my chiken and pork. I keep a container with half salt and half sugar and before I cook a I place my chicken or pork in a zip lock bag with a few tablespoons of the mixture and then add water. I let it sit at least an hour. If you do this you will never have dried out pork or chicken again. Most brine recipes are more complex that this but it works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was delicious! I used bone in chicken breasts and substituted regular onions and red pepper flakes for green onion and pimentoes because those were not available. It still came out beautifully. I also used fresh chopped spinach which I had on hand and I added minced garlic to the sauteeing onions. It smelled incredible while it was baking and the chicken was unbelievably tender and moist. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJANCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This is simple and easy. The spinach needs to be well drained, mine got watery in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This recipe was delicious. I marinated the chicken overnight in italian dressing which kept the chicken itself juicy and flavorful. I added lots of fresh garlic to the spinach mix - maybe 4 or 5 cloves. And instead of pimentos, I used fire roasted red peppers because they were easily available and inexpensive. Turned out delicious and pretty! I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This is a great way to add more spinach to your diet. I doubled the butter, flour, milk, and spinach to make more sauce. Using freshly grated parmesan cheese makes a big difference in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Everyone in my family loves this! I make double the spinach mixture to have enough as a side dish. I also add garlic, per other reviewers' comments. It is so rich and creamy. The family cheers when this one comes out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This recipe was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States