Spinach-Cheese Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I always try a recipe as is the first time and then make my changes. This recipe is a good start but on the bland side. Second time I used pepper jack cheese, 2 cloves of garlic, minced and more green onion. I mixed everything together including the spinach and then spread it over the puff pastry and rolled. I also froze it a bit to make slicing easier. At that point I then either freeze for when company comes by or cook it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
they're rather bland tasting. I think next time I will add some finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes for a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omgitsgood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
FRUSTRATION. First of all, i made the spinach/cheese filling and noticed that it didn't look like very much ... next i laid out the puff pastry, this is where the frustration was, it was impossible to unfold the stuff so i just used a rolling pin and flattened it out. I had to make another batch of filling (minus the spinach this time) just to have enough to cover the puff pastry. I also added some other herbs and spices to give it more flavor. Overall, not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrschuweiler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Pretty simple and easy, I very much so suggest adding a packet of real bacon bits though. Also they were delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Home_Chef_Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I had a hard time with the puff pastry. For all those draining the spinach, use a ricer and squeeze the spinach dry. Works great. Not sure I will attempt these again as they were too much trouble for me and the taste wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
You need to use good quality Feta cheese instead of the Muenster cheese for a bold flavor also some finely chopped good Kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
My whole family liked these. I used cheddar cheese and left out the green onion (all I had). Make sure to roll it up tight and don't over stuff it with the spinach and they will hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were ok, but I did make some changes - I sauteed some onion, garlic, finely chopped baby bella mushrooms, then added fresh chopped spinach and cooked it down. I pressed out as much liquid as I could. I used a combination of Havarti, Muenster and Parmesan and omitted the green onion. The flavor was ok, but I found these to be a little too greasy, and still needed something to boost the flavor. A couple people on the Recipe Buzz had mentioned feta cheese, and I think that would wok better - especially a sun-dried tomato and basil feta. Not a bad recipe as is, just could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I dropped the onions (as I do from everything that requires them, because I cannot stand them! Yuck!) but they were awesome none the less! I am planning my house warming, and these will definately be on the menu; they can be prepared ahead of time and just baked on the fly. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
These taste good and they are very easy to modify. I agree with other posters about freezing them first (then coat a knife with cooking spray before cutting them into pieces so they don't stick). I also try to chop the spinach up more in a food processor so it's not stringy. However, for the amount of work involved in making them I find myself getting annoyed. They're good, but they're not -great-.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCELL81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States