Spinach-Cheese Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These were kind of tasteless. Actually all it tasted like was spinach, couldn't taste the cheese at all. I doubled the recipe and there was way too much spinach. I even threw in a couple of oz. of crumbled feta. Next time I'll not double the spinach and do a little experimenting w/ the spices and add extra onions. I love the puff pastry roll-up as it's so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Actually, my daughter and I loved it that we had to stop ourselves from eating. I gave some to my relatives, and they loved it too and were wondering why they only got one each. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was good. The filling just needed a bit of adjustment...perhaps because I'm used to Spanakopita. I added some dried dill weed and used feta cheese instead. I love using puff pastry and it's great with the spinach! They're good cold, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
this is a very flexible recipe. Be sure to really squeeze the water out of the spinach. Season it well with salt and pepper too. I used fresh garlic, fresh parm, and white cheddar for these delish morsels! I had best results refrigerating the swirls before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
An absolute crowd pleaser. I used mozarella because I had it on hand. I also added a little red pepper flakes which added just enough kick...but not too much. One note, after making the jelly roll, let it set in the fridge to cool ~ 15-20 minutes. It lets the pastry rest from being handled, it makes it much easier to cut the rounds and the rounds do not unravel as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These were a hit and are easy to make...just make sure to roll them VERY tightly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These are pretty good. However, they are hard to make, especially if you haven't worked with pastry puff before. They are also best when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was a huge hit and was eaten up quick. I did add 3 pieces of crumbled cooked bacon with added a nice subtle flavor. Also as noted by others I made sure to really dry the spinach. I squeezed the heck out of until there was little to no liquid. I also recommend refrigerating the dough before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have had these before. And this is the first year I will be making them. With a few tweaks and tips from others. I will definitely post my own recipe/review. Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Scheibe Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Made this for my sorority sisters. They all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States