Spinach-Cheese Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
They have potential to be very good . We made them last night, and will make again with some changes. 10 oz of spinach is too much for one sheet of the puff pastry. I ended up removing some after they cooked/ also it was too had to roll and did not give multiple layers. They puff pastry is delicious and we loved the muenster/ parmesan cheese mixture. Next time will use half the quantity of spinach and will mix the spinach with the cheese prior to putting on the dough. It had too much distinct plain spinach flavor was it was. I also would pay more attention to when the dough gets thawed. I thawed it too much and it was hard to unroll and then roll. I agree with the other reviews that it would be easier to cut if the roll was harder/ ie if frozen, but if I didn't have the time I would only make the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These were pretty good the first tme i made them . But I made them the second time I sauteed an onion then added the spinacha little sour cream and salt and pepper than followed the rest of the recipie. It was sooo good that way. I agree with the other viewers that you should put in the fridge before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Loved this recipe & will make it again for Super Bowl. Four stars in lieu of five because I felt it needed more kick so added a little red pepper flakes & 1/4 tsp garlic powder. The best way to get all the liquid out of frozen spinach is to place it all into the center of a clean dish cloth, wrap & squeeze as much as possible. Nice dry spinach works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Love these Spinach Rolls!!! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Made these as an appetizer for Thanksgiving and they turned out out good. I used Parmesan/ Romano and the Muenster and it tasted great. Let the puff pastry defrost completely though, my second batch I didn't and the pastry tore as I was unfolding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macattack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Not bad, but kind of blah. Great idea, though, and worth experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
First time of using Puff Pastry - easy to work with and this turned out perfect. I brought them to a party and people thought I had bought them - when I told them I made them from scratch I got major kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made these for New Year's Eve - and they were....meh. I ended up throwing out 4 or 5 of them even though we had nearly 40 people at our party. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I added just a little salt and pepper to the spinach after draining it, and that helped bring out the flavor of the spinach a little. I only used enough to lightly cover the pastry, otherwise it's hard to roll. The cheese is not supposed to be overpowering, but compliment the spinach, so I like the Muenster. Relatively quick, very easy recipe, everyone really liked them. Also, I had a can of biscuits and some left-over filling, put the biscuits in the bottom and sides of a muffin tin, filled with filling, and everyone really loved them. Good breakfast idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Not flavorful--add salt, reheat. Do not serve at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States