Spinach Cheese Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Very tasty and easy, thank you! A couple of small things: I skipped the butter entirely, and used Pam. It worked fine and this recipe does not need more oil in it. We served it with jalapeno ranch dressing as a dip, which was great, and I added granulated garlic and tabasco for spice. Next time I will add even more for kick, but it went over well with the modifications noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I love this recipe; just remember to use medium cheddar or it’s too bland... I also make Greek spinach squares by using feta cheese instead of cheddar and adding ½ tsp of dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Recipe very simple to make and delicious! Must wait for the squares to cool completely before cutting or you're in for a huge mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Very nice flavor & easy to make. I have made these in small batches and large batches (multiplied the recipe by 5 for a wedding reception). Always a favorite whenever I make them-lots of raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I think this is a winner even though I wasn't particularly impressed with the flavor of them - everyone else was though! I did add some garlic powder (didn't really seem to help with flavor much) and some Frank's Red Hot (I'm going to add more next time to give it a little more zing), and will probably add minced garlic instead of garlic powder next time. I do agree with previous reviewers that it was a tad too greasy, I'd halve the butter next time. All in all a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
New Year's Eve dinner party success! I used this as a side dish and got a semi-standing ovation. Because one guest cannot tolerate onions, I omitted them. I do have to admit to tasting a bit before the dinner by trimming around the outside - fortunately, by dint of extreme self-control, I was able to leave enough for my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great! Everyone wanted to know how I made the "little quiches".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I agree with one of the previous reviewers... these were quite greasy. I think cutting back to 1 Tblsp. of butter might be enough because of the grease in the cheese. Also I would prefer more of a zing in flavor (maybe a dash of crushed red pepper?).... But they were easy to make ahead. Everyone who likes spinach enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Very easy to make and wonderfully tasty. They freeze well too. Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Gordon Peo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States