Spinach Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
OK, the recipe itself is good but I fiddled with it and came up with a delicious quiche-like pie. Here's what to do. I beat three eggs, omitted the second pie shell and the nutmeg (too spicy-sweet and a strange contrast with the spinach and cheese), cut the cheeses by about 1/3, added sauteed onions and sauteed mushrooms in low-cal butter, and it rocked! (Mix sauteed veggies with beaten eggs.) I suppose making it into a quiche defeats the purpose of calling it a pie, but really, you will save on calories and stress, and the mushrooms and onions give it such flavor. Oh yes and I used part-skim mozzarella with the parmesan and ricotta, both of which I cut, which I said already. The mozzarella melds with the spinach and mushroom flavors and of course gives that lovely long cheesy-string effect while eating. Add salt to taste because the onions do give extra flavor as does the cheese. Anyway, with the adjustments it was yummy, but I can't give it 5 stars since I made so many adjustments. A good starting place from which to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is my recipe. I was looking at the reviews and such and noticed that I had omitted an ingredient in the recipe! YIKES! There also needs to be 2 cups of diced cheddar added. Hope this helps out, I couldn't imagine it with it! Sorry for the error -- Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Yummy! Added 2 eggs, left out 1/2 the cheese, added an extra package of spinach, & added a little onion powder. Used 2 Marie Callender pie crusts (they don't have Lard in them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Way too rich!! My husband hated this. I doubled the amount of spinach because one small package just looked lost and it was still like just eating a bowl of melted cheese. If you decide to make this - and I stress if - halve the cheese mixture and double the spinach. I think it would still be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Delicious! Great flavor and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
Great recipe. I added two eggs, slightly beaten, and it gave the filling a lighter texture. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Wonderful dish. I read other reviews and took the advice of others and added sauteed mushrooms and onions into the mix as well as three eggs. I also decreased some of the cheese and omitted the nutmeg. My family enjoyed this as the main dish with some fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
We're a cheese-eating family and when we saw this recipe, we were thrilled. I was especially thrilled when it only took a few minutes to prepare it. I served it with long grain and wild rice and it was so good to my husband that he had three pieces! "You don't want this to go to waste," he said. Thanks for this recipe that helps make vegetarian eating fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made this with the following changes. As suggested from the reviews I used 2 eggs, I omited the cheddar cheese and only used half of the Mozzarella. I did fry half lb of bulk Italian sausage with onion, red and green pepper mix. Next time I will leave out the salt. I also served this with a Marinara on the side...Yum! I look forward to playing with this recipe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Easy to make and delicious! We used the new Pillsbury crusts that you unroll and they worked great. I'm definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States