Spinach Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I agree that this is a good recipe that needs some tweaking. I made the original recipe and it was very good. I love cheese, but it may be considered too cheesy by others. Also, some onion or garlic would give it more than just a cheese flavor. I like the idea of prebaking the shell a bit. My crust was a little "doughy". So, great taste, some tweaking and I would give this a 5. Also a good recipe for someone who has problems chewing. I had 5 teeth removed but could still handle gumming and chewing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbluett1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
After reading other member reviews and making some tweaks, this recipe is a keeper. I used Marie Callender pie shells and divided the mix btwn the 2. First I prebaked the parchment lined shells weighted down with ceramic pie shell balls for 5 minutes at 425 degrees, then removed the parchment and baked 5 min more before adjusting temperature to original recipe. I added 4 beaten eggs to the spinach mix, 6 or so chopped raw mushrooms and 2 sliced scallions. I decreased the cheese by about 1/3. The nutmeg is critical in my opinion, gives this dish a flavor much different than a spanakopita recipe I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jory1964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
once i added the ingredients into the cheeses, i (finally) realized there were no portions of eggs and milk/half-in-half included into this recipe! perhaps that's why many of the reviews i've read about this apinach cheese pie were, "overwheliming...too cheesy...difficult to mix." where's the onions? could live without the onions, but certainly not the egg and milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Yummo! Even my 4 year old ate it. Husband raved! I cut the cheese by 1/3. Used two crusts. Added a bottom layer of sauteed onions and mushrooms. Leftovers were a hit with my "work wife."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I found this too difficult to mix the ingredients and the finish dish had to much of a cheese taste. I like cheese very much but this was going overboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was FAB!!!!!!!!!!! no need for a top crust! Just a slice of heaven. I drizzeled butter on top and lots of it!! Thanks ------sooooooo decadant and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Terrific. I am allergic to eggs so this was perfect for me. I made it as is but did add additional spinach. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was like eating a huge ball of cheese. I was very, very disappointed. IF I make this recipe again it will be with double the spinach and no more than half the cheese, probably about one-third of the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe turned out quite nice. There was not too much cheese as "yumyum" suggested and I am not quite sure how reviewing a recipe you've never made is useful. The recipe was easy to follow and, as stated, the nutmeg truly does add a little extra something. My toddler even enjoyed this which pleased me a lot! Between the eggs, spinach, and cheese she got a nice nutritional dinner. We served it with some tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extracheeseplease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Please DO try the nutmeg. Nutmeg & spinach & cheese is a wonderful combination & I use it in three other recipes. Unless you completely HATE nutmeg, be brave & give it a try, it imparts a subtle but rich taste to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celigija
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States