Spinach Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I defrosted approx. 12 oz. frozen chopped spinach and drained it, added 1 TSP. minced garlic & used 1 15 oz. container of Ricotta. Was short on time and nuked it on power level used for eggs to get it started and then finished in oven. Worked just fine and will add diff. meat & veg. ingredients suggested by other reviewers the next time. I will definitely try this as a lasagna layer. A keeper! and thank you to CANDLELADY9AH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domestically impaired

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I decided to try out this recipe when I needed to use up a large amount of fresh spinach. It was a good choice! Both my husband and I really enjoyed it. Here are the changes I made: I added 1 tablespoon of onion powder and some minced garlic. I shredded one cup of sharp cheddar cheese and used this as a topping. Broiling the pie for the last five minutes ensured that I had good browning of the cheese. I think the sharp cheddar cheese and the onion powder made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I've never made quiche before and this was great to cut my teeth on. The only thing I regret is following other recommendations to add garlic. For me, the peppers and onions made a sweet and delicious addition. The garlic was a completely dissonent note
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
not too bad as a starting point - i used only a 15 oz. container of ricotta and added some milk to thin the mixture. also used garlic, onion, a little dry mustard and some salt and ground pepper. probably didn't need a recipe to make this in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was a great dish although I did change it quite a bit! I fried mushrooms and onions instead of the pepper and I used loads of spices- black pepper, paprika, garlic powder and salt. Was absalutely delicious and already almost finished!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Excellent dish - a great way to use garden grown spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I used feta and garlic cream cheese instead of ricota. It was delicous. Will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Very easy to make and I find it delicious, although I did change the recipe a little. I sauted diced ham and onion with some garlic, then added it into the mixture. I didn't have enough spinach or ricotta cheese, so I added two more eggs. Then I topped off the pie with green onion and some cheddar cheese. It tasted great. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
What a great recipe for my arsenal of Low Carb side dishes, and great presentation for company. As someone else mentioned, hubby can't do bell peppers, so sauted a chopped med onion to replace the peppers. Ended up baking it almost an hour to really set it up, but we loved it! I think the only thing I might add the next time is a little black pepper to the onions while I saute them to enhance flavor.It is a bland dish, but was yummy with ham steaks since they were salty! Thank you SO much! OH, and my daughter thinks it would be pretty with a little cheese sauce on it, that would be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States