Spinach Cheese Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe very closely except that I used fresh chopped spinach and I added a bit more seasoning oregano and a bit of parsley to the cheese mixture. I stuff the uncooked shells which is super easy. I had my doubts about things turning out ok, but I added the extra water to the sauce exactly as the recipe said... and it was delicious. My family has already asked me to make this again. (and they don't usually want anything to do with spinach). This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these exactly as written. There was a lot of tomato sauce, more than I needed. I thought the strong taste of the sauce over whelmed the delicate cheese. It took a long time for the shells to be soft and I think that over cooked the cheese. That said we all ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
We made this for our thanksgiving eve dinner, we usually have something Italian each year and gather with those of our children who can come home on Wednesday, then we have traditional thanksgiving on Thursday with those who can come. Everyone agreed this was an excellent Manicotti, my oldest son said he had one suggestion, he wants to try it with some Italian sausage added. We plan to try that next time. I followed the recipe as written tweaking the amount on several ingredients, the spinach, Parmesan cheese and parsley. I doubled the recipe and made two 9 x 13 pans. In the doubled cheese mixture I used one 16 ou. package of frozen spinach instead of two 10 ou. packages, for our taste it was the perfect amount of spinach. I used twice as much Parmesan Cheese as the double recipe calls for, two cups of instead of one. I added one cup to the cheese mixture and sprinkled 1/2 cup on top of each 9 x 13 pan. I substituted 1 teaspoon of dried parsley flakes for the 2 teaspoons fresh parsley. I also sprinkled a very generous half cup of mozzarella cheese over the tops of each. We enjoyed this so much it will become our 'go to' Manicotti recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was great! I took advice from other comments and used fresh garlic and then I sautéed the onion and garlic together. I also added a tiny bit of red pepper flakes. This recipe was easy to follow. For the whole dinner we had bread and salad with it. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacq
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
2nd recipe used from Allrecipes.com... another wonderful experience! OMG! I added 1 lb. ground beef, some oregano, and sweet basil. Followed the rest of the recipe and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacq

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is excellent and not difficult to prepare. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
It was good but wayyy too much spinach. Next time I would use half a package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I really loved this dish. It is one of the best things I have made. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Simple & Delicious. Made several alterations to the recipe: Cooked the Manicotti prior to baking them, steamed the spinach, sauteed the onion and garlic cloves in EVOO, utilized our own Family recipe when it came to the pasta sauce, and added Oregano & Basil to the ricotta mixture. Felt it was too bland without the added seasoning. An easy way to fill the Manicotti is piping the filling, but a spoon does the job too. Will definitely be in rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DashOfClass

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Made this dish for my mother in laws birthday diner. My brother in law is a chef and he took leftovers with him for lunch the next day, he has never done that! It was so easy without having to boil the noodles and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States