Spinach Cheese Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It came out looking wonderful, but the cheese mixture was very bland. Almost no flavor at all. The concept was good, but I would definitely add salt, real garlic instead of the powder, basil, and less spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Overall (as it is written) this was just a meh recipe for me. The filling seriously lacked on flavor and store bough sauce isn't notorious for it's robust flavors. None of these problems can't be remedied by some oregano, parsley, garlic, salt and pepper and a nice wine based homemade sauce. Fortunately it's a quick cook if you boil the manicotti for 7-8 minutes first (just long enough to get your stuffing made) And it looks pretty impressive when you have company over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Donora, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Followed recipe as written. Very good but next time will probably either cut onion amount in half or eliminate it all together. Used Ragu Original Sauce. Liked that I didn't have to pre-cook the manicotti...made it much easier to fill with the mixture. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I would definitely reduce the spinach by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pierson Niemann

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I don't pre-cook my noodles... I add half the water, and only in the jar that is going on the base of the pan. (If i am not making homemade sauce.) I also saute onions & diced mushrooms with garlic for the stuffing. I sometimes add Italian sausage as well, depending on my mood. The flavor wasn't here though, you need a LOT more spices unless the sausage is added.But even with that, I nearly use two tablespoons of minced garlic, 1 tablespoon of oregano,basil, or thyme; and of course pepper and a little bit of salt. It's a GREAT BASE recipe for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAC29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I had this recipe for years and you have my kids favorite and mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used the Allrecipes Best Marinara Sauce ever for this and changed from frozen to fresh sautéed spinach and have added sautéed mushrooms. Once cooked, this froze very well in smaller containers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I thought this was really good!!! I didn't change a thing like some other reviewers. Although I did find it was easier to stuff the shells with my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Let me just say "gut bomb" but a delicious one. I didn't do anything different. It was a little harder to make than I am used to when cooking. I have kids so I try to stick with recipes that are quick and easy. I would make this again but this is something for a special occasion at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My husband, who is very picky, ate two big platefuls of this. And my seventeen year old told me that it's better than the manicotti at her favorite Italian restaurant! I used fresh chopped spinach and added Italian seasoning to the filling. It was probably about 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning, but I didn't measure. I also left the cheese off the top until the last 15 minutes of baking so that it would not burn. Served with a fresh salad and homemade bread. I had intended to freeze the leftovers for another evening, but there weren't enough! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States