Spinach Cheese Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
It was good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was pretty good, but I think it could've been a lot better with a lot of tweaking. I thought this recipe called for WAY too much spinach - half the spinach would be just fine. I figured out the hard way that when you boil the manicotti rather than adding the water to the sauce, you need a LOT more of the filling because the manicotti get a lot bigger and thus have more room inside to fill. I parboiled the manicotti and omitted the water, and they turned out fine except that it turns out that when you leave them in cool water for a while after parboiling...they continue to soften. Oops. I tried using the ziploc-with-edge-cut-off technique to fill the manicotti, but I found using my fingers to stuff the cheese mixture inside to be much easier. I also found these to be a bit bland, I'll be adding a lot more spice next time, and will go with a tomato-cream sauce instead of plain old tomato. UPDATE: I made this again, this time using the Tomato-Cream Sauce recipe rather than tomato sauce, and it was a lot more flavorful and much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Incredible recipe, very flavorful and easy to follow for someone like me that ruins complicated ones easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I too used fresh garlic and sautéed with onion before adding to the ricotta. To save a bowl to clean and so my 8yo DD could help, I put all the filling ingredients in a gallon freezer bag and let her mush it all together before snipping the corner to fill the shells. I also used a homemade sauce and served with meatballs and a salad. Another great recipe to prove there's no need to boil your noodles for a baked pasta dish !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I thought this recipe was very good. I followed the directions pretty much exactly but I only used half of the spinach and it was just the right amount for us. Any more than that would have been overpowering! Also, I did end up with quite a bit of sauce and didn't use all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe and so has everyone I've made it for thus far!!! I've made it a few times now and always add more cheese (2 cups mozzarella), use fresh crushed garlic (2-3 cloves) rather than garlic powder, and use 2 cans of lasagna sauce rather than spaghetti sauce - I find it zestier. I also omit the water, because rather than stuff the manicotti shells totally uncooked I cook them partially, and baking in the sauce alone they turn out perfectly. I highly recommend this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ultimau5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Fabulous recipe and even though a little work, lots of fun to make! My kids loved it! My 3 year old actually ate something I made (he's very picky!) and my 6 year old told me she now loves spinach! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! I followed the recipe except made my own sauce (mainly b/c I am currently living out of the country and jarred pasta sauces are too pricey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PetesBird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this recipe tonight for dinner. I wanted to create a "lower fat" version so I omitted mozzarella cheese and halved the parmesan cheese. I used light riccotta as well. I added 2 cloves of fresh garlic instead of powder and used basil instead of parsley. I shredded about 1 cup light cheddar cheese on top instead of mozza (just our preference). It was delicious! Next time I will make ground meat pasta sauce for my husband to go on top or add meatballs on the side as he felt it was "too light" to be main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious and so, so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Really good but I should've used all of the sauce. For some reason I thought it would be too much. Our family of 4 wiped out almost the entire pan! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States