Spinach Cheese Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this the night before taking it to my small group for our dinner. I made it exactly as written except I subbed 3 cups of homemade marinara sauce that I had in the freezer for one of the jars of spaghetti sauce. I also did not have chopped spinach, so used leaf instead. I should have chopped it first. Although it did not detract from the flavor, it was a bit stringy. My bad. I shredded fresh mozzarella and grated the Parmesan myself. My concern that the shells would not be done without pre-cooking, was unfounded. They were fine. Served with garlic bread and a tossed green salad, the manicotti was well received. Several folks went back for seconds and two requested the recipe. I served a light dessert of rainbow sherbet and cookies to round out the meal. I will definitely make this again, adding Italian spice, some basil and fresh minced garlic to make it a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My family simply adored this dish! It was easy to make and we all LOVED IT! My parents have asked me to make it again in the same week already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I made this for dinner it was delicious. I did make some changes though I sautéed onions, parsley and minced garlic in light olive oil and added half teaspoon crushed red pepper. I only put half the sauce in the bottom with water and the rest of the sauce (no water) on top of the manicotti and added the mozzarella on top the last 10 minutes. It took 60 minutes total to bake. The shells were so much easier to stuff this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Fantastic!! Made with homemade sauce without cooking pasta first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe is stunning. The first time I made it I just used the lasagna shells I had left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manthatcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe is great! I followed it exactly and got wonderful results, however, I always hate stuffing the manicotti shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
this recipe was great. i did add a little more garlic and used fresh spinach and fresh basil. i also doubled the recipe,stuffed uncooked manicotti,put them back in the trays and froze them to make later in the week. just put them in the fridge the night before. pour sauce over the noodles and cover tightly with foil and bake for about 45 minutes removing foil for the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My whole family LOVES this meal. My kids have asked for it to be put on the meal schedule every month, and my husband plans his schedule to be home when we have this manicotti! The only change I made was to use basil instead of parsley, but I'm sure it is delish with the parsley, too. Love stuffing the uncooked shells -- so much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemomto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Reminds me of a dish at the Olive Garden I used to order. YUmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was just okay. I will not make again. It was pretty bland tasting to me. Also, the shells were a bit tough. I like my pasta al dente, but this was a little too al dente and I left in the oven for 55 min. I agree with another reviewer who said that the recipe on the pasta box would have been tastier. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States