Spinach Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 3girls
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made this for our Christmas Pokeno and it was sooo good! I shaped it into a Christmas tree and covered it with parsely flakes, and nuts for the string of lights, and red bell peppers for the ornaments. I was afraid it would be too soft to hold the X-mas tree shape but it held up beautifully!! I will be making this every X-mas! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Wonderful appetizer! It's so easy to make and makes a great presentation! I used reduced fat cream cheese, Hellman's light mayo, and reduced fat Cheddar cheese so it was light on the waistline as well...but you could never tell by the taste! I also used Knorr vegetable soup mix and you could easily sub green onions for the water chestnuts. I served this with Roasted Vegetable Ritz Crackers and it was gone in no time! Thanks for great recipe SARAHB2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Thanks for all the nice reviews on this recipe. This is a recipe that I made up by modifying the popular spinach dip a few years ago, it was successful with the people that I served it to, so I thought that I would publish the recipe on this website. This recipe can be varied so much using ingredients that you like the most. I use either cream cheese or the 1/3 less fat cream cheese or sometimes a mixture of both and have had great results. I also have sometimes varied the shredded cheese, depending on my mood ( I have used cheddar, and co-jack with great results as well) I usually use Knorr's Vegetable soup packet (so whatever size that comes in is what I use) I also generally use pecans when I make it. (When I sent the recipe in for publishing, I wasn't specific enough...I just said 1/2 cup chopped nuts...pecans, walnuts or even toasted slivered almonds might work.) Like I said, this is the type of recipe that you can vary the ingredients to come up with something that is entirely your own...that is the great thing about cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge Center, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is simply the best spinach dip I've ever come across. I tried making it into a christmas tree like one reviewer and it came out terrific. Took it to a Christmas potluck at work and people oooohed and aaaaahed and then devoured it. The parsley flakes actually added a nice spicy touch. I've made it for various other occasions and in other shapes, most notably a fish for a Pisces b/day. I do add a small amount of chopped scallion just because I like the taste but I've omitted it too when I know people don't care for it. A fantastic recipe...thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I thought this cheese ball rocked and did my guests. People couldn't believe I had actually made it because it was so attractive as well as delicious. I couldn't find a .4 vegetable soup mix and I used a Lipton's Vegetable soup mix (they were out of Knorrs) and it was 1 oz. I think a .4 would not have been enough. I served with a variety of crackers and my guests gobbled it up. Actually I made two smaller balls instead of one large and I think that worked out better. In my opinion way more than 8 servings. I guess it depends on how much each person eats. I also used the "1/3 less fat" cream cheese. I was a little leary of the walnuts but they were excellent with the other flavors. Thanks for sharing. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This cheeseball is delicious! I made it for a Christmas party that I was hosting. Keep in mind that it makes a HUGE cheeseball, it seemed more than twice as large as the normal cheeseballs you see at the store. Next time, I will likely halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by laughingmagpie
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good recipe. I only made a couple slight changes. I used mushroom herb soup mix and pepper jack cheese. I left out the onion soup mix because I wanted the other flavors to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I used this recipe to make a CHRISTmas setting for a group of CREAM CHEESE PENGUINS! How fun! I moulded the igloo out of it, spread a thin layer of sour cream to camouflage the spinach and help the parmesan adhere to the igloo, then I made some small Christmas trees out of the cheese ball recipe for the background, just coated them in dill and dusted them with parmesan as well! My husband is a HUGE fan of the bread bowl filled with Knorr spinach dip and he LOVED this even better! I always have at least half the bread bowl left over. This year I made a double batch of this wonderful stuff and it was GONE! Guests said they recognized the spinach dip but this was a better tasting version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Very good! I think it would be even better by adding some chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was delicious! I have made the spinach dip using Knorr's dried veg soup mix and water chestnuts many a time, so I really enjoyed making one of my all-time favorite dips into a cheese ball. So good, I almost made myself ill eating so much of it!! Thank-you Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States