Spinach Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very good. My daughter made it as an appetizer for Christmas. Left out the water chestnuts and used chopped pine nuts to coat it. She made it in an oval shape. It was a nice alternative to the "normal" spinach dip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Good recipe. Everyone liked it as a holiday appetizer, but It is a great recipe year round. I added diced green onion, a little black pepper, and some garlic powder. Frozen spinach needs to be drained well, and cut up really well unless you want long strings of spinach. I choped my spinach up, but would prefer an even more cut up spinach next time. Maybe kitchen shears would work best? Edit: The second time I made it I used cooled chopped blanched fresh spinach, and also some herbed brie spread about 2 0z. Turned out just perfect this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
It was OK, and everyone loved how cute it was when I shaped it into a tree, but the taste wasn't anything spectacular. It wasn't bad, mind you; I liked it fine, but it didn't knock my socks off. It seemed like it could use some kick. Maybe I'll use more soup mix next time, or Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great easy and fast recipe. I didn't have chestnuts, so I used pine nuts. I shaped this into three Christmas trees (flat, not a pyramid like in the picture - it's easier to eat that way) and used the pine nuts to make a garland. I have it 4 starts instead of 5 because I still prefer the regular spinach dip. This is a bit too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent! I took this to 3 different events I attended over the christmas and it was a hit. I did add 4 finely chopped green onions and it was great! Thanks for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I used this recipe to make a CHRISTmas setting for a group of CREAM CHEESE PENGUINS! How fun! I moulded the igloo out of it, spread a thin layer of sour cream to camouflage the spinach and help the parmesan adhere to the igloo, then I made some small Christmas trees out of the cheese ball recipe for the background, just coated them in dill and dusted them with parmesan as well! My husband is a HUGE fan of the bread bowl filled with Knorr spinach dip and he LOVED this even better! I always have at least half the bread bowl left over. This year I made a double batch of this wonderful stuff and it was GONE! Guests said they recognized the spinach dip but this was a better tasting version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 3girls
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made this for our Christmas Pokeno and it was sooo good! I shaped it into a Christmas tree and covered it with parsely flakes, and nuts for the string of lights, and red bell peppers for the ornaments. I was afraid it would be too soft to hold the X-mas tree shape but it held up beautifully!! I will be making this every X-mas! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachelle Leavens-Hollingdale
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving, to get everyones tatse buds moving. It was way bigger than we thoguht it would be. Being pregnant I did not like the water chesnuts but everyone else did. I am gonna keep this one on hand!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Leavens-Hollingdale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Wow, this was so good! Took it to Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Very good! I think it would be even better by adding some chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States