Spinach Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is what i did: I used 3/4 cup wheat flour, 3/4 cup all purpose. I chopped up bacon and cooked till crisp, drained off grease, added the chopped drained spinach to the pan, added pepper, pinch of nutmeg, and smallest pinch of crushed red peppers. drained well on papertowel. Mixed all ingredients as directed, but added garlic powder and salt. Scooped heaping tbs to greased muffin pans, and baked. They made 9 muffins. I added the bacon to balance the spinach and give the recipe more flavor as well as the wheat flour for texture. the nutmeg added wonders since it goes so well with spinach! MMMM they smelled heavenly in the oven, and looked marvelous. The only critisism i have is i didnt really like the "stringy" texture the spinich gave them, but the flavor was ok. Maybe next time i will use green onion or chives. Oh yeah, 35 mins was way too long, they were done in about 20 mins. They were a little dry too, but they were ok. Not sure if i would make again, maybe try fresh spinach. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Unfortunately, our household didn't like these too much. Hubby and I are both indfifferent to spinach so didn't know what to expect...but they were pretty bland and the taste of the spinach did over power even the cheese (we let them cool completely as the recipe seems to suggest). I gave it two stars, one because they are REALLY pretty, and one for the benefit of the doubt (maybe it was just our tastes and not the recipe). It was an interesting N*R (not reviewed) selection to try though! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I liked these. My husband liked them a *lot* (he's on his 4th now - in less than an hour). Its a great idea and they are very pretty, which counts for me. I think they are a just a little bland, but could easily be spiced up with some chili flakes and/or onion. Also, make sure to use sharp cheddar! Thanks for the recipe Breezer! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I just made them last night... uhh...they were okay. I thought the flavor was good, but my muffins came out SO dry. They were like pretty little rocks :(. I might attempt this again if i combine it with another recipe.. maybe the spinach brownies on this site. I bet it will be good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I liked these, but they could use a little something else - maybe garlic or some cayenne, maybe even some shredded pepperjack cheese. Still, they were tastier than I thought. Best served relatively quickly - when they cool off was when I felt something was missing. The only change I made was to use fresh baby spinach - lightly steamed, squeezed dry and chopped - instead of frozen, as frozen spinach always seems stringy and overcooked to me. I think the fresh spinach was very flavorful in these. Thanks for sharing! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These were okay. They were kind of bland. Not bad, but not great. I think maybe some garlic would perk them up? Also, the cheese caused them to stick to my muffin tin a bit. I had to use a knife and run around the edges to get the muffins to come out. I'm going to dry out the leftover muffins and use them in a dressing recipe I have that normally calls for cornbread and baking powder biscuits. N * R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
It's bland as is, so I added garlic powder, onion powder,salt, pepper, parmesan cheese and I used old cheddar cheese. These muffins baked a nice dome for their tops and they look so pretty and tasted great with the additions I added. It makes a great 'sandwich' the next day when you put a slice of turkey or ham in it. We enjoyed these muffins. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Making some revisions based on people's reviews, these are fabulous!!! For the dryness that everyone spoke of, I added two extra tablespoons of butter, extra cheese, and cooked for ten minutes less than suggested. For the blandness that was mentioned, I added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt and 1/4 tsp of onion powder and 1/4 cup of freshly grated dubliner cheese (like a sweet, bold paremsian cheese). Pair with a nice fruit salad and it would be a perfect brunch, will definately make again. Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These look great, but we do not care for the taste. I would have to doctor them quite a bit into something we would really enjoy. I have a feeling this would be a fun recipe to play with, but I don't like them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
These aren't bad. Bf liked them as is. I think that they do need a bit of spicing up, as they are bland, but other than that they were fine. My spinach wasn't stringy like others--maybe mine was more finely chopped? I made them last night and served them cold at dinner tonight. Then I heated one just to see . . . the spinach flavor is more pronounced when they are warm. I prefer them cold. N*R Go to Recipe Exchange for info on N*Rs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States