Spinach Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
ok as written these are awful, I am thinking to much baking powder or flour. They baked up nicely but the taste was not good. I baked only two to see this way. Then I added garlic, minced onion and pepper, these are still bland... wow... I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These muffins remind me a lot of Red Lobster's biscuits. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added bacon. I probably won't do that again. With a little bit of garlic and onion powder, these are very good. Be sure to use Sharp Cheddar Cheese. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
These aren't bad. Bf liked them as is. I think that they do need a bit of spicing up, as they are bland, but other than that they were fine. My spinach wasn't stringy like others--maybe mine was more finely chopped? I made them last night and served them cold at dinner tonight. Then I heated one just to see . . . the spinach flavor is more pronounced when they are warm. I prefer them cold. N*R Go to Recipe Exchange for info on N*Rs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These look great, but we do not care for the taste. I would have to doctor them quite a bit into something we would really enjoy. I have a feeling this would be a fun recipe to play with, but I don't like them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Making some revisions based on people's reviews, these are fabulous!!! For the dryness that everyone spoke of, I added two extra tablespoons of butter, extra cheese, and cooked for ten minutes less than suggested. For the blandness that was mentioned, I added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt and 1/4 tsp of onion powder and 1/4 cup of freshly grated dubliner cheese (like a sweet, bold paremsian cheese). Pair with a nice fruit salad and it would be a perfect brunch, will definately make again. Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
It's bland as is, so I added garlic powder, onion powder,salt, pepper, parmesan cheese and I used old cheddar cheese. These muffins baked a nice dome for their tops and they look so pretty and tasted great with the additions I added. It makes a great 'sandwich' the next day when you put a slice of turkey or ham in it. We enjoyed these muffins. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These were okay. They were kind of bland. Not bad, but not great. I think maybe some garlic would perk them up? Also, the cheese caused them to stick to my muffin tin a bit. I had to use a knife and run around the edges to get the muffins to come out. I'm going to dry out the leftover muffins and use them in a dressing recipe I have that normally calls for cornbread and baking powder biscuits. N * R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I liked these, but they could use a little something else - maybe garlic or some cayenne, maybe even some shredded pepperjack cheese. Still, they were tastier than I thought. Best served relatively quickly - when they cool off was when I felt something was missing. The only change I made was to use fresh baby spinach - lightly steamed, squeezed dry and chopped - instead of frozen, as frozen spinach always seems stringy and overcooked to me. I think the fresh spinach was very flavorful in these. Thanks for sharing! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I just made them last night... uhh...they were okay. I thought the flavor was good, but my muffins came out SO dry. They were like pretty little rocks :(. I might attempt this again if i combine it with another recipe.. maybe the spinach brownies on this site. I bet it will be good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I liked these. My husband liked them a *lot* (he's on his 4th now - in less than an hour). Its a great idea and they are very pretty, which counts for me. I think they are a just a little bland, but could easily be spiced up with some chili flakes and/or onion. Also, make sure to use sharp cheddar! Thanks for the recipe Breezer! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States