Spinach Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
It's bland as is, so I added garlic powder, onion powder,salt, pepper, parmesan cheese and I used old cheddar cheese. These muffins baked a nice dome for their tops and they look so pretty and tasted great with the additions I added. It makes a great 'sandwich' the next day when you put a slice of turkey or ham in it. We enjoyed these muffins. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Making some revisions based on people's reviews, these are fabulous!!! For the dryness that everyone spoke of, I added two extra tablespoons of butter, extra cheese, and cooked for ten minutes less than suggested. For the blandness that was mentioned, I added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt and 1/4 tsp of onion powder and 1/4 cup of freshly grated dubliner cheese (like a sweet, bold paremsian cheese). Pair with a nice fruit salad and it would be a perfect brunch, will definately make again. Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I'm sorry, but as written, these are just not to our taste. I made it just as the recipe states in order to give it a fair review, but IF I were to make them, again, I'd add a lot more seasonings, and for sure I wouldn't use frozen spinach. I doubt I'll try them, again, though. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I liked these. My husband liked them a *lot* (he's on his 4th now - in less than an hour). Its a great idea and they are very pretty, which counts for me. I think they are a just a little bland, but could easily be spiced up with some chili flakes and/or onion. Also, make sure to use sharp cheddar! Thanks for the recipe Breezer! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These look great, but we do not care for the taste. I would have to doctor them quite a bit into something we would really enjoy. I have a feeling this would be a fun recipe to play with, but I don't like them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I just made them last night... uhh...they were okay. I thought the flavor was good, but my muffins came out SO dry. They were like pretty little rocks :(. I might attempt this again if i combine it with another recipe.. maybe the spinach brownies on this site. I bet it will be good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I really liked these! I followed some reviewers' advice and added an extra 2 Tbsp. butter. I also added 1/4 tsp. each of garlic powder, onion powder and ground black pepper. Went wonderfully with a bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I never tried such muffins before. First Im not convinced to make this one coz im wondering what the taste like with those veges but I was wrong this was awesome. Unique taste and I can find all the ingredients to my kitchen. thanks for posting. I posted the pic of the one I made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
ok as written these are awful, I am thinking to much baking powder or flour. They baked up nicely but the taste was not good. I baked only two to see this way. Then I added garlic, minced onion and pepper, these are still bland... wow... I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is what i did: I used 3/4 cup wheat flour, 3/4 cup all purpose. I chopped up bacon and cooked till crisp, drained off grease, added the chopped drained spinach to the pan, added pepper, pinch of nutmeg, and smallest pinch of crushed red peppers. drained well on papertowel. Mixed all ingredients as directed, but added garlic powder and salt. Scooped heaping tbs to greased muffin pans, and baked. They made 9 muffins. I added the bacon to balance the spinach and give the recipe more flavor as well as the wheat flour for texture. the nutmeg added wonders since it goes so well with spinach! MMMM they smelled heavenly in the oven, and looked marvelous. The only critisism i have is i didnt really like the "stringy" texture the spinich gave them, but the flavor was ok. Maybe next time i will use green onion or chives. Oh yeah, 35 mins was way too long, they were done in about 20 mins. They were a little dry too, but they were ok. Not sure if i would make again, maybe try fresh spinach. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States