Spinach Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
ok as written these are awful, I am thinking to much baking powder or flour. They baked up nicely but the taste was not good. I baked only two to see this way. Then I added garlic, minced onion and pepper, these are still bland... wow... I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These muffins remind me a lot of Red Lobster's biscuits. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added bacon. I probably won't do that again. With a little bit of garlic and onion powder, these are very good. Be sure to use Sharp Cheddar Cheese. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
These aren't bad. Bf liked them as is. I think that they do need a bit of spicing up, as they are bland, but other than that they were fine. My spinach wasn't stringy like others--maybe mine was more finely chopped? I made them last night and served them cold at dinner tonight. Then I heated one just to see . . . the spinach flavor is more pronounced when they are warm. I prefer them cold. N*R Go to Recipe Exchange for info on N*Rs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These look great, but we do not care for the taste. I would have to doctor them quite a bit into something we would really enjoy. I have a feeling this would be a fun recipe to play with, but I don't like them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Making some revisions based on people's reviews, these are fabulous!!! For the dryness that everyone spoke of, I added two extra tablespoons of butter, extra cheese, and cooked for ten minutes less than suggested. For the blandness that was mentioned, I added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt and 1/4 tsp of onion powder and 1/4 cup of freshly grated dubliner cheese (like a sweet, bold paremsian cheese). Pair with a nice fruit salad and it would be a perfect brunch, will definately make again. Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
It's bland as is, so I added garlic powder, onion powder,salt, pepper, parmesan cheese and I used old cheddar cheese. These muffins baked a nice dome for their tops and they look so pretty and tasted great with the additions I added. It makes a great 'sandwich' the next day when you put a slice of turkey or ham in it. We enjoyed these muffins. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These were okay. They were kind of bland. Not bad, but not great. I think maybe some garlic would perk them up? Also, the cheese caused them to stick to my muffin tin a bit. I had to use a knife and run around the edges to get the muffins to come out. I'm going to dry out the leftover muffins and use them in a dressing recipe I have that normally calls for cornbread and baking powder biscuits. N * R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I liked these, but they could use a little something else - maybe garlic or some cayenne, maybe even some shredded pepperjack cheese. Still, they were tastier than I thought. Best served relatively quickly - when they cool off was when I felt something was missing. The only change I made was to use fresh baby spinach - lightly steamed, squeezed dry and chopped - instead of frozen, as frozen spinach always seems stringy and overcooked to me. I think the fresh spinach was very flavorful in these. Thanks for sharing! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I just made them last night... uhh...they were okay. I thought the flavor was good, but my muffins came out SO dry. They were like pretty little rocks :(. I might attempt this again if i combine it with another recipe.. maybe the spinach brownies on this site. I bet it will be good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I liked these. My husband liked them a *lot* (he's on his 4th now - in less than an hour). Its a great idea and they are very pretty, which counts for me. I think they are a just a little bland, but could easily be spiced up with some chili flakes and/or onion. Also, make sure to use sharp cheddar! Thanks for the recipe Breezer! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States