Spinach Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Making some revisions based on people's reviews, these are fabulous!!! For the dryness that everyone spoke of, I added two extra tablespoons of butter, extra cheese, and cooked for ten minutes less than suggested. For the blandness that was mentioned, I added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt and 1/4 tsp of onion powder and 1/4 cup of freshly grated dubliner cheese (like a sweet, bold paremsian cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I teaked these muffins a bit.... used 1/2 cup blue cheese and 1/2 cup cheddar. I had self raising flour so used that instead of flour and baking power and I wanted to use the spinach I grow in my garden so I cut fresh spinach, soaked it in boiling water for 30seconds, squeezed out the moisture and chopped. They turned out divine!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hoppers Crossing, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a wonderful idea, but the recipe has some problems. As others advised, I added garlic and onion powders. I doubled the recipe, so it was 3 c flour, 4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp onion powder, 12 T butter, 2 eggs, 2 c milk, 1 c spinach, 2 c of cheese (I used Cabot's "seriously sharp cheddar"). I thought the taste was great, had zip. I only baked them for 25 minutes, not dry at all. But very, very greasy! Also they stuck to the muffin cups like nobody's business. I used a spike pan and put a yellow grape tomato in each muffin on the spike. If less greasy and pulled from the paper liners more easily, would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Loved these (with some modifications, of course :)). Can't speak to the original recipe's results but with added ground pepper, garlic powder, extra cheese (including some smoked cheddar and some parmesan), 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour substituted, and some extra milk (all 1% though since that's what I have), I am in love. Mine didn't rise a *ton* and were certainly not the lightest things, but a bit more spinach than originally called for and some whole wheat flour will do that- delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I really liked these! I followed some reviewers' advice and added an extra 2 Tbsp. butter. I also added 1/4 tsp. each of garlic powder, onion powder and ground black pepper. Went wonderfully with a bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I added many of the suggested extra ingredients to add more flavor and they were OK. Very moist. Something is off with the flavor--almost bitter. I am going to try it again with more adjustments. Maybe more salt and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I read the reviews about blandness so I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp thyme, and 1/4 cup parmesan ... but still bland. Texture was great, though, so I think I'll try adding sauteed onions next time to see if I can kick the flavor up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and upped the flavour components of this recipe. And it made a delicious muffin! I added 2 eggs instead of one, doubled the cheese and also added 1/8 cup of powdered parmesan. I added 2 tsp minced garlic, 1 large diced onion and 2 tsp dried mixed herbs. The muffin was moist (almost like a quiche) and delicious. Good base recipe, but would be bland without extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Tried it out for a brunch and the muffins turned out nice and moist and went very well with the soup and salad menu I had prepared. They were a hit with my guests. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
These muffins were great right out of the oven. But don't make too many, they are not very good the next day. I used fresh spinach and these turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States