Spinach Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Making some revisions based on people's reviews, these are fabulous!!! For the dryness that everyone spoke of, I added two extra tablespoons of butter, extra cheese, and cooked for ten minutes less than suggested. For the blandness that was mentioned, I added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt and 1/4 tsp of onion powder and 1/4 cup of freshly grated dubliner cheese (like a sweet, bold paremsian cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I teaked these muffins a bit.... used 1/2 cup blue cheese and 1/2 cup cheddar. I had self raising flour so used that instead of flour and baking power and I wanted to use the spinach I grow in my garden so I cut fresh spinach, soaked it in boiling water for 30seconds, squeezed out the moisture and chopped. They turned out divine!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hoppers Crossing, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a wonderful idea, but the recipe has some problems. As others advised, I added garlic and onion powders. I doubled the recipe, so it was 3 c flour, 4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp onion powder, 12 T butter, 2 eggs, 2 c milk, 1 c spinach, 2 c of cheese (I used Cabot's "seriously sharp cheddar"). I thought the taste was great, had zip. I only baked them for 25 minutes, not dry at all. But very, very greasy! Also they stuck to the muffin cups like nobody's business. I used a spike pan and put a yellow grape tomato in each muffin on the spike. If less greasy and pulled from the paper liners more easily, would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Loved these (with some modifications, of course :)). Can't speak to the original recipe's results but with added ground pepper, garlic powder, extra cheese (including some smoked cheddar and some parmesan), 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour substituted, and some extra milk (all 1% though since that's what I have), I am in love. Mine didn't rise a *ton* and were certainly not the lightest things, but a bit more spinach than originally called for and some whole wheat flour will do that- delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I really liked these! I followed some reviewers' advice and added an extra 2 Tbsp. butter. I also added 1/4 tsp. each of garlic powder, onion powder and ground black pepper. Went wonderfully with a bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I added many of the suggested extra ingredients to add more flavor and they were OK. Very moist. Something is off with the flavor--almost bitter. I am going to try it again with more adjustments. Maybe more salt and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I read the reviews about blandness so I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp thyme, and 1/4 cup parmesan ... but still bland. Texture was great, though, so I think I'll try adding sauteed onions next time to see if I can kick the flavor up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and upped the flavour components of this recipe. And it made a delicious muffin! I added 2 eggs instead of one, doubled the cheese and also added 1/8 cup of powdered parmesan. I added 2 tsp minced garlic, 1 large diced onion and 2 tsp dried mixed herbs. The muffin was moist (almost like a quiche) and delicious. Good base recipe, but would be bland without extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Tried it out for a brunch and the muffins turned out nice and moist and went very well with the soup and salad menu I had prepared. They were a hit with my guests. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
These muffins were great right out of the oven. But don't make too many, they are not very good the next day. I used fresh spinach and these turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States