Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These potatoes are outstanding! I followed the recipe as written, and couldn't be more pleased, even the cook times are spot on! The sauce was perfect in 10 minutes, and the bake time is perfect also. I was a bit skeptical when I poured the sauce over the potatoes and spinach because I didn't think it was enough, but I was so wrong, this recipe is perfect as written. Next time I'm going to use Swiss cheese and add some crumbled bacon, now that sounds wonderful as well! I agree with Christina, I believe many types of cheeses could be used in this with great results. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious! My new favorite au gratin recipe. I added a little extra salt just for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Decadent - a major contributor to tonight's dinner of grilled pork chops and "Bacon Wrapped Asparagus," recipe also from this site. I used unpeeled, small Yukon Gold potatoes and just a hint of grated fresh nutmeg. The cream sauce, spinach and nutmeg was a match made in heaven. I made no other changes in ingredients, and none in terms of measurements or in the cooking method. That makes this easy - it's perfect just as is. The spinach was a creative addition and the Muenster lent just enough, but not too much, flavor. Exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Hubby said to give this one 6 stars...It was that good! My mom insisted she had a block of muenster cheese, but of course, she didn't, lol, so I ended up using Butter Kase, but I could totally see using pretty much ANY cheese and this turning out fantastic! Instead of using 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy cream, I just used 2 cups of milk and that worked out perfectly. These were truely delicious and I will be making them again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This recipe is delicious and I’ve made it several times, with modifications, in the last few months. Because of the high fat content as written I use olive oil instead of butter and 2% milk instead of heavy cream. And, since all I’ve had on hand were russet potatoes that’s what I’ve used. I also leave out the salt as the cheese has plenty and my husband has high blood pressure. As for the cheese I can say that I have made it with many types and mixes, and that the Muenster is definitely the best! This is now our favorite potato recipe, and although I’m sure it would taste much richer as written, the basic recipe idea is excellent and still a treat with all the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Abolutely Divine! I had no cream, so used 1 3/4c milk + 1/4c sour cream. Also, after baking 30 min covered & 20 uncovered, I put back in 300 degree oven, covered for about 30 min only because my guys hadn't made it home yet. Then popped back in just to melt the final cheese. These were so fabulous with grilled steaks & roasted asparagus! Everyon went back for seconds! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
We thought this came out very well. I think I'd use a stronger-flavored cheese in the future, and I'd probably caramelize another onion or two as they were lost in mine. The recipe calls for more butter than the instructions say to use -- go with the instructions, as they have the correct ratio for a roux. The sauce doesn't seem like it's going to be enough for all the potatoes (I used 4 big Russets), but it is enough once the spinach shrinks in the oven :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I couldn't find Meunster, so I substituted half Gruyere and half Emmental. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this tonight to go with beef tenderloin. Wow, these were really good. My father and husband thought they were great too. I did change a couple things to go with what I had on hand. Yukon golds, frozen chopped spinach and Jarlsberg cheese. For the amount of potatoes I cubed them fairly small and put a generous single layer across the bottom of my 9x 13 dish. Thawed and drained the spinach, pulled out little chunks and placed evenly over the potatoes. When I added the milk and cream I did it in a few batches instead of all at once and had no problem with clumping. Other than as mentioned I followed the directions for cooking and such. Take the time to caramelize the onions, I don't think these would taste nearly as good with just regualr onions. It was a little futzy having to make the cheese sauce but the quality of product makes it so worth it. I think that the next time I will add some cubed ham and make a bit more sauce to make a one dish dinner. My husband said "bacon bacon bacon", that would be good too! I so wish I had taken a picture before it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I was torn between four or five stars. I opted to go with four because I believe a different cheese would have been better and alot cheaper, too. I couldn't get shredded muenster, so I had to buy a 1.11 pound block which worked fine for the two cups. The block cost $8.09 which is too pricey for the results. The cooking directions and times were right on the mark, though, and my dad just loved them. I love the idea, so I will try a different cheese next time because the Muenster was just too mild. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States