Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
AMAZING recipe! Followed the recipe exactly and received so many compliments from friends and family! Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Used smoked gouda cheese instead and ths recipe was very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I have made this as is and really enjoyed it. As per other reviews, I have also subbed milk/sour cream for the heavy cream. I also added some crisp crumbled prosciutto for added flavor. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This recipe is delicious and I’ve made it several times, with modifications, in the last few months. Because of the high fat content as written I use olive oil instead of butter and 2% milk instead of heavy cream. And, since all I’ve had on hand were russet potatoes that’s what I’ve used. I also leave out the salt as the cheese has plenty and my husband has high blood pressure. As for the cheese I can say that I have made it with many types and mixes, and that the Muenster is definitely the best! This is now our favorite potato recipe, and although I’m sure it would taste much richer as written, the basic recipe idea is excellent and still a treat with all the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was excellent. We didn't have Muenster cheese, so instead used a mix of old cheddar and garlic & dill cheddar. I used just milk instead of half milk/half cream and it turned out just fine. This is a really easy and flexible recipe. A nice way to use up fresh spinach. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this recipe exactly as written and it was phenomenal. Only change was to cut the potato in slices instead of cubes. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I thought this delicious and I will definitely make it again! I'm from southern Louisiana, so i wanted it to have a little more flavor/spice so I may add something next time. And I felt it needed a little more salt (personal preference). I omitted the spiniach since i had none on hand. I also didnt have an 1hr30min to make this so I cut some corners but i dont think it affected the recipe at all. I cubed and boiled the potatoes for about 15 min so they were cooked but still firm. Then I added the sauce and baked for about 20 min, added cheese as directed and baked for another 10. My hubby really liked it and its even something I would add to our traditional holiday menus. I also really like that it DOES NOT call for any Cream of ---Soup, as I like to know everything that goes into my food :) Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My family loves this recipe. I took this to my husbands family Christmas and it was a big hit. I did leave out the spinach, as I wasn't sure if everyone liked spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ethriel21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was a fantastic recipe! I tend to alter just a bit. I used russet potatoes, and in the sauce, I used a mixture of sharp cheddar (white) and about l/3 c. of herbed feta cheese. I used muenster for the top. Was fantastic. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mexicarlita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was tasty. I used whole milk in place of milk and cream and my sauce was still very creamy. Everyone seemed to enjoy it and it was pretty easy to put together considering I didnt peel the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States