Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I thought this delicious and I will definitely make it again! I'm from southern Louisiana, so i wanted it to have a little more flavor/spice so I may add something next time. And I felt it needed a little more salt (personal preference). I omitted the spiniach since i had none on hand. I also didnt have an 1hr30min to make this so I cut some corners but i dont think it affected the recipe at all. I cubed and boiled the potatoes for about 15 min so they were cooked but still firm. Then I added the sauce and baked for about 20 min, added cheese as directed and baked for another 10. My hubby really liked it and its even something I would add to our traditional holiday menus. I also really like that it DOES NOT call for any Cream of ---Soup, as I like to know everything that goes into my food :) Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My family loves this recipe. I took this to my husbands family Christmas and it was a big hit. I did leave out the spinach, as I wasn't sure if everyone liked spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ethriel21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was a fantastic recipe! I tend to alter just a bit. I used russet potatoes, and in the sauce, I used a mixture of sharp cheddar (white) and about l/3 c. of herbed feta cheese. I used muenster for the top. Was fantastic. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuckboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was tasty. I used whole milk in place of milk and cream and my sauce was still very creamy. Everyone seemed to enjoy it and it was pretty easy to put together considering I didnt peel the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Just made this for Christmas dinner. I used what I had on hand, 4 C. half and half in place of cream and milk, cheddar and Parmesan cheese in place of Muenster and I tripled the garlic. Good flavors, easy to make and got great reviews at at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is TOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Brought dinner to a friend's house tonight. These potatoes were so delicious. Everyone raved about them. WILL DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Great recipe! I substituted Fontina cheese for Muenster and increased the garlic to about a Tablespoon, and it was delicious! I think I may throw in some mushrooms next time, but this will definitely be a go-to side dish for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Soooo yummy !!!!! I used what I already had on hand: four russet potatoes, frozen spinach (squeeze out the excess water), two onions, three cloves garlic, two cups milk (no cream), extra sharp cheddar cheese (also added white pepper), and topped it with crispy bits of bacon after it came out of the oven. I followed the cooking directions exactly and it came out perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is wonderful: one of the best potato dishes I've ever eaten! Perfect the way it is, don't alter it until you've tried it as written. I made this the first time for my mom's birthday. She said it was 'divine' and that it now replaces her grandmothers Au Gratin Potatoes. Everyone I've made it for since has asked for the recipe. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States