Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
While the recipe tastes good, I felt it was too labor intensive. It could use a little more flavor. I am going to try and cut the potatoes into slices instead of cubes and maybe that will help cook it faster. I just wasn't that impressed, so I will try again. If something takes me an hour and a half to make (for just a side dish) it should knock my socks off, but it was decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish, Montana, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I had some leftover cottage roll that I chopped up and added so I mixed a 1/2 tsp of dry mustard with the flour. No Munster so mixed cheddar and Parmesan.cheese. Was super good will make it again and again. I also chopped up some red pepper and added that and used kale. From the garden instead of spinach. What a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This was fabulous. I think the Muenster added a very nice flavor to these but then the bacon I added didn't hurt. I fried up 6 slices of chopped bacon and then used the bacon grease with about 1/2 the butter to caramelize the onions in. I doubled the onion and garlic as a personal preference and used russet potatoes and frozen spinach because that is what I had. I also used 2% milk and half and half because that is also what I had. I wouldn't change a thing next time except would love to use fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this almost as written, and I loved it. Just substituted the heavy cream with 1/4 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup half & half. And I did use almost all Muenster cheese and I found it not lacking in flavor at all. Spinach is perfect with this recipe, what a yummy version of au-gratin potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Made this tonight for my supper... O.M.G. SOOOO GOOD! And I can see where it would lend its self to variation. Maybe add sauteed mushrooms. Julianned ham. Imagination! I'm going to have to watch myself to keep from eating the entire thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouisvilleHugger
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
How could you NOT love a dish like this? It's so comforting and full of flavor. I definitely recommend you let this one keep you company one night. Caramelized onions win me over every time. And I like the fact this recipe is versatile. I added cubed ham and made this dish the "main" dish. I have made things like this before. I am glad I came across it today. My kids weren't too keen on it but that's only because they could see the spinach, lol. If I make this again I will make a smaller portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Amazing!!! I've made these for guests and they've been blown away. Couldn't find muenster cheese and used jack instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great dish!!! I added mushrooms too with the potatoes took about 13 minutes longer to bake for potatoes to be cooked through, but very worth the wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious comfort food! I used whole milk instead of spending money on heavy cream, and I found it plenty rich enough. I served it with ham. Next time I make this recipe I think I will try it with swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I doubled the recipe (as I always do for my "BIG EATIN" family)! Although my family members(from 8 years to 54 years old) really really liked these potatoes, I only gave it 4*(s) because after tasting the sauce, I had to add a lot more spice and fresh garlic before baking. I think it would have been very bland if I did not add more spice (basil and sea salt for us). Also, I only needed the original amount of butter (3 tablespoons) which worked out perfect! Otherwise, thanks for a great recipe, I don't think I would have ever used "muenster cheese" which I really liked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States