Spinach Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Loved it! I only had 1/4 c mozza, so added about 1/3c feta, a clove of garlic, and then sprinkled parmasan cheese on top before baking. I also sauted the onion with the spinach. Wow...my 4 year old had 5 of them (he thinks he hates spinach!) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I thought this was a really good side dish. I served it for my family and they liked it, I ate all of the left overs the next day. Will definetly make again. Didn't change anything and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I don't know about anyone else, but this recipe screamed "ADD BACON!" at me. So I did. I cooked and crumbled about 1/2 a pound of bacon and added it along with the spinach and cheese and onion. I cooked the onion first as a personal preference, I don't care for the sharpness of uncooked onion. I think this is amazingly delicious! There was a lot of butter sizzling on the top of the batter and around the edges as it cooked and the top looks a little greasy after it is done, so the butter could probably be reduced. The texture is light, almost quiche-like, but not too eggy. Very hard to describe, it tastes delicious though! Make *SURE* you do not undercook this, if you do it will turn out unappetizingly soggy. Good warm or at room temperature. The recipe doesn't say anything about draining the spinach after it is cooked, but I assumed it should be so I squeezed the cooked spinach till no more liquid ran out (do the same with thawed if you use frozen spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I first tasted the spinach brownies when I visited a bed and breakfast in the Berkshires. The owner gave me the recipe upon my checking out. I made it for a potluck breakfast at my childrens's school four years ago and I've had the faculty, children and other parents hooked on my spinach brownies since. In my version I only use half the amount of butter, and I use a different kind of cheese each time I make it. Asiago or an XXtra sharp cheese in the recipe is great. I've used one half cup of dried minced onion instead of using the chopped onion. It's the best. My kids can eat a whole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Easy to make but very impressive. Made them the day before and they were still great. Make sure not to use too much water when cooking the spinach. I've since made this many times with frozen spinach, just wring it out and half the butter. It's great and can even be frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
OK, so this is an unfortunate name for a recipe. A 9x13 pan does not a brownie make. I think the name puts people off of the recipe because they are trying to picture how the heck spinach and chocolate go together! That's too bad because it is really good and worth trying. I took the last reviewer's suggestion and included crumbled crisp cooked bacon. To die for! I took it to work and it vanished. People said "what's this?" (somewhat suspiciously) and then had a bite and were saying "YUM!". I think the butter could be reduced slightly, but it's not overly greasy as is. Make sure to squeeze the heck out of the spinach once it is cooked to get rid of all the moisture. I suspect that has been the cause of some of the failures described in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Oh, My! The name scared me, but the taste made me forget all of my fears. I used the two packages of frozen spinach. I squeezed the heck out of it to get every drip of liquid out. The bars set up very nicely as a result. Someone else mentioned something about the onions. I think the next time I'll probably sautee them lightly to bring out the sweetness and cut the "oniony" taste that keeps my kids away from these bars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Spinach brownies are wonderful! I sauteed the onion in 1 tbls of butter and that was plenty of butter for these. These will be great to serve at a holiday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Very high fat recipe, so I lowered the fat by changing to 1/2 cup olive oil and used part-skim mozarella. Also used whole wheat flour. With changes it is only a marginal product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
What a nice appetizer or accompaniment! But don't call the brownies as it turns people off. I said they were Spinach Squares (not creative but not unappealing.) Didn't have mozzarella so I used jalapeno jack cheese. Also added crumbled bacon as suggested by another reviewer. Will keep this in my permanent files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 855) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States