Spinach Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have made these twice. The first time, they had a strong flour taste because I ignored an important step(step 3) so please don't do what I did and dump the flour into the spinach and attempt to mix. It doesn't work as the flour does not mix evenly into the spinach mixture. The second time, I did as instructed and mixed the dry ingredients together before adding the spinach and cheese to the dry mixture. It's amazing what happens when you follow directions!! Although very good, I felt it was a bit too salty and will cut down on the salt next time. This recipe also worked well for me using GF flour. Thanks for the recipe, bowlingnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Yummy. Who'd have thought it?!! :) I used two 10-oz packages of frozen spinach and a little less butter than specified. I might try another type of cheese, or mix mozzarella and feta as someone suggested. Might try bacon next time also. All that said, pretty perfect just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added zucchini and mushrooms in a second pan. I left out the onion and added black pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Could give this more stars! Added mushrooms to the sauted onions and used frozen spinach. Used 1/2 butter..Awesome dish! ***update*** diced carrots and added that to the onion/mushroom saute. Hubby likes cheese more that I so added 1/2 cheese to the mix and then used other 1/2 to top his side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great recipe, very yummy, but, not sure why they would tell you 10 ounces of fresh spinach but two 10 ounce packages of frozen spinach. Ten ounces is ten ounces. First time I made it I used fresh, which is all I ever use, and it was more of a bread. The next time I used 20 ounces of spinach and it looked more like the picture and was much yummier! Also, would be helpful to list amount of onion since they are not all the same size. I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and sautéed my onions first since they are milder that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This recipe is absolutely a 5 STAR - I cut the butter down a wee bit and use a 2 or 3 cheese medley including mozzarella & yellow cheddar - (I also add cooked crumbled bacon when my vegetarian friends aren't around) I brought it to a family reunion and called them "spinach brownies" the host put them on the dessert table, and no one ate them...LOL...they were full from dinner and were ready for sweets.....no problem though because my son was THRILLED most of them came home.... wonderful warm, cold, or room temp (warm or warmed up is my fav) A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this for a get-together tonight. They were a hit! I changed the recipe after reading some of the reviews. I used 4 tablespoons of unsalted butter, sauteing the onion and adding three cloves of garlic, minced to it, too. I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour instead of all white flower. We don't use cow milk, so I used almond milk and it worked fine. These were gone very fast at our gathering and I'll definitely make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe time and time again with Gluten Free All Purpose Flour and it comes out great! Otherwise, I haven't changed a thing. Thanks for a different kind of treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Lightfoot
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I added Rotel chili tomato mix. It added a little pizzaz to this already delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lightfoot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
LOVE this recipe. And the (picky) relatives do too. It's easy to make but turns out so delicious. It has a great consistency; kind of unique. I did follow others' suggestion to fry the onion up first and I added some garlic. Also did not use so much butter. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Cheesy, creamy spinach and artichoke baked appetizer dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States