Spinach Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I made some modifications but this is really good bread. I used canned spinach, well drained - low sodium - 1/2 cup. I saved the liquid from the spinach and used it as part of the water required. I also left out salt. I added a tablespoon of dried chopped onion. I was out of cheddar so I used 1/3 cup of parmesan instead. I used the Basic bread setting with 2lb and dark crust. Wait for this loaf to cool before devouring - not likely!!! It smells wonderful hot. Nice crunchy crust. It did not fall though I used all purpose flour. A nice rounded green loaf that was very good served with cream cheese. I will use the rest of the spinach with an egg for breakfast served on top of a slice of spinach bread toast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe precisely and the process started off well, but the bread didn't rise in the final stages and although somewhat edible, the cheese was completely lost in the taste--a complete waste of an ingredient. The pepper was overwhelming (I'll never put black pepper in bread again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly. The bread did rise, but it fell during the cooking cycle so it was really quite heavy. I want to be very specific: we ADORE spinach and eat it all the time both cooked and raw. My boyfriend didn't like the bread at all. He ate one piece. I ate about 1/3 of the loaf by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
The green color is strange. I thought it would be flecks. Anyway it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Very simple, easy and tasty bread for the bread machine. I used fresh, steamed, and well-drained spinach in place of the frozen spinach. I did not bother to chop the spinach because it did so in the machine. This makes a very large loaf of bread, so make sure your bread machine can handle 3 cups of flour. I found out the hard way that mine could not. It baked fine, it just was not pretty as it rose and baked right out of the baking chamber. DH really enjoyed the taste of this bread and he is not a spinach fan. It was just a nice subtle taste and the cheese added extra flavoring. The next time I make this; I will once again use fresh spinach and let the machine do the blending. But, I will then transfer the dough to a regular bread pan, let it rise, and then bake at 350° for about 30-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I have made this recipe many times & think it is fantastic! I often use swiss chard in place of the spinach, which gives a smoky, hearty flavor. To use fresh instead of frozen I weigh out 5 ounces, then nuke it a couple minutes. Do drain it but you don't need to chop it (the bread machine does that for you). If you don't like the bite of the pepper, you can substitute garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I also make this with rainbow swiss chard... very pretty. and aged cheddar really adds flavour. I make the dough in the bread machine, let it rise a 2nd time, then bake at 375 for around 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
absolutely fantastic!!! Added fresh spinach instead. A little garlic and oregano....the husband is pleased. Although 15 servings, we think not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I took the other reviewers' advice and added some garlic powder. The bread came out with a great flavor, but it was extremely concave (it fell in on itself like nothing I've ever seen!) and dense. I might try it next time with bread flour instead of all-purpose and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legally Aud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was a great bread. My bread maker sucks so the bread collapsed and was dense, but the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States