Spinach Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Mmmm this got thumbs up all-around! This was my first attempt at pesto and I am thrilled with how it came out. Thanks also for the tip on freezing for future use. Great recipe Dianne :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very good. A great balance. Not to strong but plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
really easy and yummy - substituted frozen spinach and basil and still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I've never had pesto before but was looking for something different for my pasta so I tried it. All four kids ate it without complaining. Two of them and my husband polished it off. I've made it twice now and will definately make this again. I also followed somones advice of freezing it in ice cube trys. Great idea! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspaisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have any basil, though, so just used spinach. Very yummy. I think I added more garlic, but I like a lot of garlic. I ate it on crackers, and put it in pasta, and spread it on my sandwiches. Very yummy. Great way to sneak in some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISKYRAPIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
My 4, 7, and 9 year old love anything with pesto in it so I wanted to find a way to make it as healthy as possible since they eat it almost every day. The spinach adds veggies and I used Walnuts to add Omega I added 1/2 cup more walnuts than the recipe called for. Really good recipe. I have huge crops of Basil in the summer time so I double the recipe and freeze in ice cube trays so it lasts for a few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Simplicity and fresh ingredients are a divine combo! I added cilantro, parsley, red pepper flakes, nutmeg and walnuts; omitted the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was excellent! I thought the addition of spinach would lessen the flavor, but it wasn't an issue at all. I added a little extra garlic and actually think it probably would've been fine with just the 4 cloves as the recipe calls for. I ended up making a double batch because I like the first batch so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
How delicious! I have never made pesto sauce before, so this was my first attempt and it was exquisite! Finding at the last minute that I did not have pine nuts, I looked up on the internet to find a suitable substitute, and finding almonds were appropriate (and I had them) I used almonds. They cut up beautifully in the food processor and I have some left over which I am going to freeze for another treat some summer evening! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yfowles
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I have never made or even eaten pesto before, but needed it for another recipe. This was a great first experience in both areas. I used frozen chopped spinach, walnuts, and lime (what I had available). I used fresh basil from my garden. The flavor was not over powering but still very good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yfowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States