Spinach Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
How delicious! I have never made pesto sauce before, so this was my first attempt and it was exquisite! Finding at the last minute that I did not have pine nuts, I looked up on the internet to find a suitable substitute, and finding almonds were appropriate (and I had them) I used almonds. They cut up beautifully in the food processor and I have some left over which I am going to freeze for another treat some summer evening! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was fantastic! This was my first attempt at homemade pesto, and I will never be buying that nasty stuff in jar again. It is so fresh and all the flavors come together beautifully. I used 3 cloves of garlic because of previous reviews, but I don't think the extra clove would have been too much. I guess it depends on the strength of your garlic. I also used fresh parmesan, which I think is crucial to the taste of the pesto. I served it with gnocchi and shrimp. I don't have ice cube trays, so I divided the leftovers into little pesto "cookies" on waxed paper, put them in the freezer and then wrapped the frozen pesto in plastic wrap and then put them in a freezer bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUGSMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
really easy and yummy - substituted frozen spinach and basil and still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Perfection. I was a little wary because other reviewers mentioned this tasting a little 'earthy' because of all of the spinach. I was also worried because once I blended mine all up the mixture only smelt of spinach. I had made this in the afternoon and stuck it in the fridge for a few hours. Once it came time for dinner it smelled much more like pesto. Actually one of the best pestos I've even had, this is one for the recipe books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is the real deal, truly amazing flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and since I do not have a food processor, I made this in my Kitchen Aid blender. I had to add all of the oil before turning it on with this method. I was pleased it worked just great. I used pine nuts and had no trouble finding them, I didn't think they were terribly expensive as some others have mentioned. Thanks Dianne for yet another wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
My 4, 7, and 9 year old love anything with pesto in it so I wanted to find a way to make it as healthy as possible since they eat it almost every day. The spinach adds veggies and I used Walnuts to add Omega I added 1/2 cup more walnuts than the recipe called for. Really good recipe. I have huge crops of Basil in the summer time so I double the recipe and freeze in ice cube trays so it lasts for a few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yummy!!! I thought the spinach may alter the flavor too much but it was awesome! I would slowly just add garlic to taste next time..it's a bit much (or maybe try roasted garlic?) and this is coming from a garlic lover! My cloves were pretty big tho. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Simplicity and fresh ingredients are a divine combo! I added cilantro, parsley, red pepper flakes, nutmeg and walnuts; omitted the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Mmmm this got thumbs up all-around! This was my first attempt at pesto and I am thrilled with how it came out. Thanks also for the tip on freezing for future use. Great recipe Dianne :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I forgot to add the lemon zest and I although I love garlic, I might use just 3 cloves next time. This pesto made a great addition to my whole wheat pasta with sauteed onion & red pepper. I'm sure I'll be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States