Spinach Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My go to pesto recipe! Great use for the basil plant that won't stop growing!! My husband finds it addicting. I make a batch every two weeks. I add two more cloves of garlic and reduce the olive oil to about 1/4 cup in total. We like ours smooth/chunky. I'm thinking about making a pesto hummus with this recipe!! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roosevelt, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is a really great pesto recipe! I didn't have a lemon so I used bottled lemon juice instead of fresh and didn't add any zest. It was still really good! Also, I used the canned grated parmesan. This has now become my go to pesto recipe. I tossed it with some penne pasta, chicken and pine nuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
My family loves this recipe! I don't keep pine nuts in the house so the four times I've made this recipe, I didn't use any and we didn't miss them. To change it up (and use what's in my garden), I've made some batches with a couple jalapenos thrown in which adds a nice kick. It's also very good mixed with melted cream cheese for a creamy pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This turned out fabulous! I listened to a few of the other tips to use real parmesan instead of the grated Kraft stuff. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Good recipe. I add the parm at the end to taste and less salt. Try a little mixed into some sautéed zucchini noodles (made with my julienne peeler) and topped with a poached egg for a delicious, healthy easy weekday dinner. Also is nice lightly dressing some homemade, fresh spinach-fettuccine noodles as it just enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is the absolute best pesto I've ever had! Even better than that my one year old helped me put it together with the basil and the spinach. I wasn't expecting her to like it but after one taste she kept asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made this but cut the recipe in half as there are only two of us. It was fantastic! I used it on Roast Chicken Panini, along with a couple of slices of Monterey Jack cheese, popped it in the Panini maker and Voila!. Added a salad and it was a quick and easy lunch. There was some left over and I'm looking forward to experimenting with different sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I prefer to use walnuts instead of pine nuts. Much less expensive and still tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My kids (9&11), hubby and I loved it. I did buy pine nuts from the bulk section in the grocery store and toasted them myself. The pine nuts are not too expensive when you buy bulk because this recipe doesn't call for much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Fantastic! Because of the price of pine nuts, I used half almonds, and this turned out great. I got about 1.5 cups out of this recipe (I was wondering how much "12 frozen cubes" would turn out to be). It's nice to be able to serve spinach to my husband without having to hide it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States