Spinach Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This turned out very well! Great substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I just got a food processor and this is the first thing I made. It's delicious! I cut the recipe in half but followed the recipe exactly. Nowadays I'm much more conscious of ready-made store bought food, with ingredients I can't pronounce. This way I know exactly what I'm eating and it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Not your traditional pesto. I ended up adding about three times as much basil to even taste it, the spinach and pine nuts overwhelmed all of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is delicious and so easy to make. I just had it topped on tri-colore rigatoni and goat cheese. Very delicious! I had to add just a tad bit more olive oil to get it to start blending in my blender. Might want to use a food processor if you have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Amazing! Like other's I replaced the pine nuts with almonds. I also ran out of grated parmesan so I used half grated and half shredded. I left this a little bit thicker too. My only complaint is that I don't see how this could be 24 serving, probably closer to half of that. Wonderful recipe, thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I am rating this a 4, because I think it turned out okay, but I think I just don't care that much for pesto. I had some basil I wanted to use up and found this recipe. I made 1/2 the recipe and it made about 4 servings. I am not sure how that could be stretched to 12. I subtituted blanched almonds for the pine nuts, because it was the closest with what I had in the house, but kept everything else the same. I thought the texture looked a tad creamier than I know pesto to be, but I may have ground it too much. Now, I will just have to figure out something to put this on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I'm trying to find more recipes using raw natural ingredients. I thought this was pretty good just a little oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Delicious! We added it to our tortolini pasta. I also brought it as a dip with pita chips for New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Fisher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The pesto is great! I used it on whole wheat pasta and it didn't taste as wonderful as out of the bowl. I will use it on white pasta next time and I hope that will carry the flavor from mixer to pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Simply perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-Man and Pivo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States