Spinach Basil Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is my new favorite salad -- used all spinach instead of basil and used fried choped up bacon instead of prosciutto -- You never can go wrong with bacon -- there is never any left over and I always have left over pasta salad. You can leave out the nuts and it is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Really enjoyed this one. The first time I made it I followed the advise of some reviewers and added Italian dressing. I thought the flavor was rather generic so I made it again so I could get taste of it's intended flavor. I MUCH prefer to follow the recipe exactly than to alter the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I'm a firm believer about rating a recipe as it was written. It drives me nuts when people rate a recipe after they've made a million changes to the recipe. So with that being said, I think this recipe is delicious as written. I think next time I make it, I'll cut back on the olive oil. But other than that, this recipe was a hit with the fam and company. I love it served cold as well. After trying this recipe, I don't think I'll ever go back to making the traditional pasta salad - thanks for sharing Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Absolutely fabulous, followed the recipe to the letter, and it was awesome. The basil was wonderful, it was sort of a deconstructed pesto, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leakey, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This salad was awesome. I made it to bring to a Sunday dinner at my in-laws, and they were all asking me for the recipe. At first when I put it all together, I tasted it and didn't think it was all that special, but after I got there, and stirred in the nuts and the parmesan cheese, and the dressing flavors had had time to blend, it was actually really delicious. I agree with someone else that said it is very expensive to make, so I did substitute the pine nuts for slivered almonds, but even still, everything else added up too. It does make a lot though, and I think you could substitute the priscioutto for a less expensive meat as well, but I wouldn't leave it out completely, it does add some extra flavor and texture to have some kind of meat in there. Overall, we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephieq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I think this was the best pasta salad i have ever had! I added more herbs and a little bit of dry ranch dressing mix and left out the prosciutto, because we didn't have that on hand. But it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dessertqueen13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Delicious! Generously salt the pasta water and you shouldn't need to add more salt later, the parmesan cheese adds salt too, so be careful. I also used twice the spinach the recipe called for to get more veggies. Three kids under 13 and my husband all loved it. Luckily there is a tiny bit of leftovers for lunch tomorrow =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Excellent pasta salad. My husband dislikes most pasta salads but liked this one. I added black olives and a little itallian dressing. I also added extra pine nuts and cheese. MMMMMMmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
So yummy! Made it without the meat and it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
this is one of my new favorite recipes. I made it for a cook out and received rave reviews over it. A very nice healthy refeshing dish for the summer. And super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States