Spinach Basil Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is my new favorite salad -- used all spinach instead of basil and used fried choped up bacon instead of prosciutto -- You never can go wrong with bacon -- there is never any left over and I always have left over pasta salad. You can leave out the nuts and it is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Really enjoyed this one. The first time I made it I followed the advise of some reviewers and added Italian dressing. I thought the flavor was rather generic so I made it again so I could get taste of it's intended flavor. I MUCH prefer to follow the recipe exactly than to alter the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I'm a firm believer about rating a recipe as it was written. It drives me nuts when people rate a recipe after they've made a million changes to the recipe. So with that being said, I think this recipe is delicious as written. I think next time I make it, I'll cut back on the olive oil. But other than that, this recipe was a hit with the fam and company. I love it served cold as well. After trying this recipe, I don't think I'll ever go back to making the traditional pasta salad - thanks for sharing Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Absolutely fabulous, followed the recipe to the letter, and it was awesome. The basil was wonderful, it was sort of a deconstructed pesto, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leakey, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This salad was awesome. I made it to bring to a Sunday dinner at my in-laws, and they were all asking me for the recipe. At first when I put it all together, I tasted it and didn't think it was all that special, but after I got there, and stirred in the nuts and the parmesan cheese, and the dressing flavors had had time to blend, it was actually really delicious. I agree with someone else that said it is very expensive to make, so I did substitute the pine nuts for slivered almonds, but even still, everything else added up too. It does make a lot though, and I think you could substitute the priscioutto for a less expensive meat as well, but I wouldn't leave it out completely, it does add some extra flavor and texture to have some kind of meat in there. Overall, we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephieq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I think this was the best pasta salad i have ever had! I added more herbs and a little bit of dry ranch dressing mix and left out the prosciutto, because we didn't have that on hand. But it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dessertqueen13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Delicious! Generously salt the pasta water and you shouldn't need to add more salt later, the parmesan cheese adds salt too, so be careful. I also used twice the spinach the recipe called for to get more veggies. Three kids under 13 and my husband all loved it. Luckily there is a tiny bit of leftovers for lunch tomorrow =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Excellent pasta salad. My husband dislikes most pasta salads but liked this one. I added black olives and a little itallian dressing. I also added extra pine nuts and cheese. MMMMMMmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
So yummy! Made it without the meat and it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
this is one of my new favorite recipes. I made it for a cook out and received rave reviews over it. A very nice healthy refeshing dish for the summer. And super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States