Spinach Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a really good, easy recipe that has a lot less calories than some of the other recipes on this site. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I omitted the salt and only mixed two cups of cheddar cheese with the spinach, then put the other two cups on the top. The casserole has a nice, unique flavor, and you can barely taste the spinach (which is a good thing, in my opinion, since I don't really like spinach). A few more seasonings may make it tastier, but it worked for me as written. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is very good, but I was disappointed how little spinach there is in it. It ends up being just about a cup of spinach to 4 cups of cheese: and serves 12? That works out to mighty little spinach per serving! It's very tasty, but not quite healthy enough to make it into our regular weekly menus, sorry. I will try it again with doubling the spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These were easy and fun. Stayed nicely in the refrigerator for a couple of days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very tasty! I added extra garlic (3 cloves total), 1/2 tube of sausage cooked and drained, and only 3 cups of cheese rather than 4. Wow, there is no lack of flavor here! A tad greasy, but expected with the sausage. If making with sausage again I would cut down on the melted butter in the pan by at least 1/2 or try cooking spray. The butter was oozing up over the mixture as I spread it in the pan. I think I'll try swiss and turkey sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
These were really good but I think I prefer the Spinach Brownie recipe over this one. I kind of feel like the majority of this recipe is fattening filler rather than spinach. All of these are rather fattening but the Spinach Brownie recipe calls for 2 frozen boxes of spinach or ten oz of fresh. At least you are getting more of the nurtients I was looking for. Although, when I made the other recipe in the past, I added bacon as one reviewer suggested...making it even more unhealthy! :) That's probably what made it so good. I would probably make these again but I didn't find they had that quiche texture like the other recipe had and that's what I was looking for. These were a little more mushy than the others. Still really good though! Great for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Great recipe thanks! I've tried it with all sorts of different cheeses to vary the taste and everyone I've made this for raves and it's so simple which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
My family loved it. 3 out of 5 tore it up. The other two liked it but I made the mistake of promising hot dogs if they didn't like it. They just wanted to eat hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Good tasting recipe and easy to make. It's something between a frittata and quiche I'll definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I really liked this recipe. Kids would not touch it as it still looked like spinach ... was hoping for them to look more ... bar like. A tad more salt though. I will make this again. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Fantastic! I call this "almost quiche," and my family has had it for breakfast over the last several days. I didn't have cheddar and used swiss instead, and it turned out great. Next time, to make it more "breakfast-y" I think I'll add some cooked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States