Spinach Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These spinach bars were absolutely EXCELLENT! My dad and I are both fond of veggies and cheese seems to go well with many different ones. I made this batch and by the end of the next day they were completely gone! This is without a doubt one of the best spinach recipes I have heard of! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple~Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I served this with chicken the other night and everyone really enjoyed it. I did omit the onions and mushrooms due to some picky eaters in the house and only used about a cup and a half of sharp cheddar and it still came out tasty. This will surely be showing up at the dinner table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I won't make this again. It's not like it was terrible, but the health benefit isn't great and neither is the taste. (I need one or the other.) The directions weren't specific, but it was easy to figure out what you were supposed to do. I think there are other spinach recipes out there similar to this one that're better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was really good. I used one small onion, 1/4t of garlic powder for the garlic, 2c of 2% sharp cheddar and 2c of Cabot 75% reduced fat cheddar. I omitted the mushrooms as I didn't have them. I mixed up everything but the baking powder the night before, however, I forgot to add in the powder the next morning. They still were great. We'll definitely make this again. My 3-year-old gobbled them up. My 9-year-old didn't but I think that was just because he thought I was trying to trick him into eating spinach. Uh, yeah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnt Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I used a 10 oz bag of fresh spinach instead of frozen. I had to bake mine longer then 30 min. I thought the texture was mushy/pastey and that the taste is bland as written. It needs more spices. I added a small amount of parmesan cheese to it and reduced the chedder by a cup. As it cooled in the pan, it flattened. I also think it would benefit the recipe/dish if it were to be baked in a smaller pan. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe doesnt say what to do with the onion.......I diced it and sauteed that with the garlic in a little evoo first. I did not use the butter in the pan....no need. I sprayed with olive oil spray. Used chedder and mozzerella cheeses(way less than 4c.).....and added a pinch of nutmeg to the mix. They baked up nicely and tasted even better. Great way to eat spinach. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Yummy! I used canned mushrooms and to cut down on fat, I used a little baking spray instead of the butter in the pan and cut the cheese in half to two cups. Still VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This recipe was great. I actually altered it a bit to make it even more healthy. I used whole wheat flour and 1 tsp wheat gluten instead of all purpose flour. I also decreased the cheese by 1 cup. I did add a bit more salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The bars that made me famous!! Well almost. Everyone loves these bars. I take these to any gathering and come home with an empty tray. Sometimes I make a double batch and leave some at home. They are great from breakfast. I make mine in a slightly smaller pan so they are a bit thicker and cook them a bit longer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I used this recipe but added about a cup of feta cheese and garlic pepper and used a 16 ounce bag of frozen (thawed) spinach. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States