Spinach Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These are awesome! Next time I will cut down the flour a little and add a little more egg. They're kind of like spinach-cheese bread--I was thinking more along the lines of a quiche when I made them--but they're GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These were easy and yummy. I made several changes because I needed a less fattening version. I used egg whites instead of whole eggs, low fat milk, only 1 and 1/4 cup of reduced fat cheese and omitted the butter and used Pam instead. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was one of the best spinach dishes I've ever tried! In fact, I'm going to the store to get the stuff to make more. The only thing I "changed" was using seasoned salt instead of regular salt & I added more pepper than called for, but that's just a personal taste. I highly recommend these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My mom and I took them to a tailgate party and they were a big hit! Came out perfectly, stayed HOT in the car ride over and were gone fast! We will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Well, personally this one is a five star. But my kids didn't like it. I think it would be better if the onions were caramelized first, but doing it this way made it fast and simple. I will do it again...just when the kids are gone. It's a quick one to do when you don't have a lot on hand and forgot to thaw meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
The key to making this dish firm and done in 30 minutes is to make sure you drain the spinach very well. I defrosted my 16 oz. bag of spinach for 4 minutes in the microwave and then put it in a colonder and pressed with the back of a big spoon until most of the water was out. I also cut the cheese to 2 cups and added 1 cup feta. Delicious! My family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I've never rated a recipe so poorly. I followed it exactly as-is, and it turned out awfully. It tastes unpleasant, the consistency seems off to me. It's not at all a "bar," you basically need to eat it with a spoon. I doubt it's undercooked, because I cooked it for an additional 20 minutes beyond what the recipe stated. It never burned, but it never got any denser, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Pretty good recipe. Tastes a lot like spanakopitas that I really like. A bit too salty (I used frozen, unsalted spinach, but it could have been the sharp cheese), but that's an easy fix. Most of the kids didn't like it, but that's kids for you. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These spinach bars were absolutely EXCELLENT! My dad and I are both fond of veggies and cheese seems to go well with many different ones. I made this batch and by the end of the next day they were completely gone! This is without a doubt one of the best spinach recipes I have heard of! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple~Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I served this with chicken the other night and everyone really enjoyed it. I did omit the onions and mushrooms due to some picky eaters in the house and only used about a cup and a half of sharp cheddar and it still came out tasty. This will surely be showing up at the dinner table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States