Spinach Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
My ten year old daughter thinks it's not Christmas without Spinach Balls. My original recipe called for a dash of fresh cayanne pepper which is very tasty with the combination of flavors. I always have to double this recipe and this year I should have tripled it. I had a lot of visitors this holiday season and even those that don't care for spinach tried and liked this appetizer. I baked these for 13 minutes; cooled completely; stored in an air tight container and refrigerated. When I wanted to serve, I baked spinach balls on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes at 350 and served warm. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have made these for years and they are always a big hit! These can be prepared days ahead and frozen. On the day of your party, just pull them out of the freezer and bake. I freeze them in the aluminum foil type pans, so they are ready to go right in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Yum! These are similar to the breaded spinach bites I got from Costco but with WAY less sodium. I just made my own bread crumbs from the heels of whole grain bread and added extra dried oregano & basil. I also added a handful of toasted and ground pecans which gave a nice flavor and some extra protein. I used less melted butter and added some olive oil instead. Next time I will throw in a handful of wheat germ also. I used them as faux meatballs with spaghetti. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
These freeze beautifully before they are baked to have on hand as needed. Just thaw for 30 minutes and bake as directed. I have always doubled the recipe but only use 3/4 cup butter rather than a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I added onion and 1/2 parmesian, 1/2 feta cheese. They were delicious! Even people who don't normally like spinach enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Had lost my original recipe for Spinach Balls and made this recipe for a wedding this past weekend. I was in Oklahoma and many thought they were sausage balls. However, they were a big hit! I didn't change any of the ingredients. I strongly agree with the previous 5* ratings. FYI: For 150 people, we made the used 12 boxes of spinach. Definitely plan on 3 bites per person, many had more. We made them on Wednesday, cooled and stored them in large zip lock bags. We thawed and reheated them for the wedding on Saturday night. No problem!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Delish!!! I like making these with other cheeses like cheddar and mozzarella too. I put all the ingredients into the food processor and whir them together - super fast, super easy, and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This recipe is very forgiving. Realized I had no spinach, so I subsituted frozen broccoli instead. So good! I recommend making the balls bigger though, the small ones come out too crispy. Will make again and try with fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Whittier
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I make this recipe all the time. Today I used the mix to stuff mini pumpkins. Baked at 375 for 45 minutes. It turned out great and looked amazing. I added the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made a healthy version: 1 10oz pkg of frozen chopped spinach thawed and drained 2 cups of Italian Style Panko 3/4 cup of reduced fat Sharp Cheddar Cheese 2 tsp garlic powder 1/2 tsp black pepper 1 tsp Italian Seasoning 2 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil 2 Eggs 2 tbsp of Bragg's Amino Acid (or Tamari) This was so delicious without the butter and the panko is made with wheat flour instead of white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States