Spinach Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eibbed0001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Watch out - these little guys are lethal. My husband came home late from a flight and he ended up eating half the batch, just standing and chatting. I've started the second go-around now. I used fresh spinach on hand, boiled it down. I'd use some Pam spray on the pan, they sorta stuck. Dipped in homemade marinara sauce - yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
i made this today 3-29-13, to bring to a crawfish boil, everyone LOVED them... i did make some changes... i used Stove Top Savory Herb instead of bread crumbs.. also added feta cheese flavored tomato & basil kind..i think next time i make these, i will add artichoke hearts and use Italian mix cheese with the Philly cheese in it.. also i thought that by just using parmesian cheese, made these a little salty to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was looking for vegetarian appetizers and found this. They were very good. I sub-ed a can of artichoke hearts for one of the packages of spinach. (Just because) Just drained and chopped them. Also sautéed onions and garlic in the butter. And used bread crumbs instead of the stuffing mix, so I upped the Italian seasoning a bit. Served with Marinara sauce and there were none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made these for a Christmas appetizer & most people seemed to enjoy them, even the ones that don't like spinach. I forgot to add the garlic powder & I can see where it would add the kick they were missing. I used the stove top stuffing for chicken bread crumbs so there was a good seasoned taste to the balls. We used the leftovers in spaghetti with a tomato sauce 3 days later. They absorbed a lot of the moisture from the sauce & were better then they were the first time around. I will make these again & get all the ingredients in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADTIRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe needs a lot of work. As is, it is very bland. I decreased the amount of bread crumbs by a cup and added a ton and it came out very dry and bland. I had only baked 10 to test so with the remaining spinach mixture, I added garlic sauteed in oil, a little vegetable bullion cube and more garlic powder. It still came out bland and dry! I won't be making this again but I suggest sauteeing the spinach and adding all the flavoring and THEN adding it to the bread crumbs. Frozen whole cut spinach works better than chopped and consider covering the spinach balls with foil towards the end of baking to keep in some of the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
VERY good and VERY easy. I made a whole bunch of them thinking I would freeze them....and they all got eaten before I could sneak them to the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Good but was lacking something. I altered recipe to include 1/2 chopped and sautéed onion, dash cayenne pepper, 1 clove of minced garlic and 1/2 cup of feta cheese. Took the recipe to 5 stars then. I served with another reviewers suggestion of: mustard sauce 1/2 c sour cream, 1 tsp yellow mustard, dash of worcestershire and 1 tsp soy sauce. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Me and my little one loved these!!!! I doubled it and froze some for later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Wow! I had never heard of spinach balls, but had to use up some fresh spinach, so I thought I would try these. These are really good! I didn't have stuffing, so I used italian style bread crumbs. I added garlic and white onion cooked in EVOO, then added the spinach in and added just 2 tbsp of butter at the end, then added to the dry ingredients, plus a little cayenne. I used shredded parmesan (didn't have any grated) and the result was sooo yummy. Even my super picky 5 year old, and my non-spinach loving hubby liked them! Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States