Spinach Arancini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Rather than fry such a lovely side dish, I baked these at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Worked beautifully. These are quite time-consuming, and would work well to prepare the "balls" ahead of time, then bake when ready -- would be GREAT at for a dinner party. One time-saver: I stuck the rice mixture in the freezer for 10 minutes rather than chilling it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Deelish! The only things I did differently were to omit the saffron (as I had none on hand) and used extra virgin olive oil for the frying insteead of regular vegetable oil. I probably used more spinach than specified, too. But it came out wonderful. These were gobbled up at a drink/appetizer party I had recently. Great recipe so thanks to a fellow Albuquerquean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this for a potluck and it was a HIT! I fried them the night before, and then reheated them in the oven until warm, and served with marinara sauce. Everyone loved them, including my picky sister!I might substitute water for the wine next time, and I would only use about 1/2 of an onion, because the flavors came off pretty strong, but it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These are delicious! My husband told me to add this to the favorites list. I used Fontina cheese in the center, and mixed chopped ham with the rice, I also spread the rice on a cookie sheet in the freezer for 10 minutes instead of the fridge for 4 hours. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
While the taste of these was very good, they're very labor intensive and took a long time to make. For that reason I probably wouldn't make them again. I used a 1" scoop to help form them, scooping up some of the rice mixture, pressing the cheese into it, then mounding more of the rice mixture onto it. The scoop made it easy to form and unload the balls. Once the balls were formed and rolled, the frying went quickly since I was able to fit about 20 at a time in my pan. The recipe yielded 80 for me. I have a lot that I froze, and today I found that heating the frozen ones about 15 minutes at 350 degrees got them to just the right temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
For once, I followed the recipe exactly & I have to say, this was the best risotto I've ever had & I'll make it again. Not the balls though. It wasn't that they were terribly hard to make but once fried, the risotto lost all flavor for me & just tasted like fried breadcrumbs. We call that "brown food" around here & neither one of us cares for it. The recipe is excellent, easy to follow, & a good use for leftover risotto but I'd rather have the risotto as is cuz it ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I rolled in homemade bread crumbs and then baked. Obviously gave it a different taste, but everyone loved it! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These tasted very good but were SO time consuming to make that I probably won't make them again. I agree with another reviewer that the onion stood out too much and so I would probably reduce. I tried to bake them as another reviewer suggested but they did not turn out well for me - the inside cooked but the outside didn't brown up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These are great. Served them twice and everyone thought they were wonderful. I bought the small mozzerella balls at the deli. I made 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Lombardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Maine, USA
Living In: Warren, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States