Spinach Arancini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mollie1983
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This recipe is very time consuming but well worth it! Honestly, this is one of the best recipes on this site! I absolutely adore these little rice balls! I came across this recipe by accident, found it interesting and saved it. A few weeks later, I made them. I few days later, I made them again! I've made these about 5 times so far; I'm actually cooling the rice mixture now lol. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I love these hidden recipes with only a few ratings that turn out to he a hit. I use multiple blogs, cooking shows and different websites to find great recipes and this one is in my top 3! I serve it along side "the pioneer woman's" penne alla vodka. That's great too btw. Ok, enough ranting and raving! Thanks again! SIDE NOTE: if the saffron threads are too expensive or unavailable at your local grocery store, I heard Tumeric works great as a substitute. If anyone tries this or uses any other sub' please let me know! Mollie1983@yahoo.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollie1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is pretty good. I didn't fry (baked at 350 for 30 mins) and didn't use mozzarella (didn't have it), but I really liked it anyway. The balls didn't stick together all that well, but I think it's because of the rice I used. I think--and I'm no rice expert, so I could be wrong--that Arborio rice is stickier than other rices since it's used for risotto, so it probably sticks better. Since I'm having trouble finding that kind of rice, however, I just tried it with regular rice. Very tasty, and that's from someone who isn't the biggest fan of rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These are great. Served them twice and everyone thought they were wonderful. I bought the small mozzerella balls at the deli. I made 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Lombardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Maine, USA
Living In: Warren, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I rolled in homemade bread crumbs and then baked. Obviously gave it a different taste, but everyone loved it! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These tasted very good but were SO time consuming to make that I probably won't make them again. I agree with another reviewer that the onion stood out too much and so I would probably reduce. I tried to bake them as another reviewer suggested but they did not turn out well for me - the inside cooked but the outside didn't brown up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
For once, I followed the recipe exactly & I have to say, this was the best risotto I've ever had & I'll make it again. Not the balls though. It wasn't that they were terribly hard to make but once fried, the risotto lost all flavor for me & just tasted like fried breadcrumbs. We call that "brown food" around here & neither one of us cares for it. The recipe is excellent, easy to follow, & a good use for leftover risotto but I'd rather have the risotto as is cuz it ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
While the taste of these was very good, they're very labor intensive and took a long time to make. For that reason I probably wouldn't make them again. I used a 1" scoop to help form them, scooping up some of the rice mixture, pressing the cheese into it, then mounding more of the rice mixture onto it. The scoop made it easy to form and unload the balls. Once the balls were formed and rolled, the frying went quickly since I was able to fit about 20 at a time in my pan. The recipe yielded 80 for me. I have a lot that I froze, and today I found that heating the frozen ones about 15 minutes at 350 degrees got them to just the right temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Rather than fry such a lovely side dish, I baked these at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Worked beautifully. These are quite time-consuming, and would work well to prepare the "balls" ahead of time, then bake when ready -- would be GREAT at for a dinner party. One time-saver: I stuck the rice mixture in the freezer for 10 minutes rather than chilling it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Used leftover risotto but the technique worked well. Baked instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States