Spinach Almond Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Awesome pesto recipe. I had no idea pesto could taste this good without basil. I didn't have any almonds in the house, so I substituted toasted pecans. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing and the pesto came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Outrageously good. Made a batch left out the cheese and froze in ice cube trays and then bagged in the freezer. Add the cheese and thinned a bit with water before serving. Tossed w/shrimpand pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this and absolutely loved it. I cooked the spinach myself so I used a bit of cooking water instead of the broth(less sodium!). Added a bit of nutritional yeast, and about a cup of silken tofu because I like creamy sauces!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really good! I used fresh spinach, about 3 cups or so (the amount of basil you'd use in a typical recipe) and used less liquid (about 1/2 the amounts, eyeballed it) since the fresh spinach has a good amount of moisture. I added a tbsp of dried basil, and salt and pepper to taste. If you've had pesto before, you know how you like it. :) This pesto is so good, and I love that I didn't have to spend a ton on fresh basil. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Good - but too much on the cheesy side... and can i make it with raw -fresh spinach - uncooked - that's what i will try next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I used walnuts as I was out of pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Delicious with fresh spinach. I used Cashews instead of pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The recipe made a LOT of the pesto, too much. And it was like eating pureed spinach. Did not taste the almonds or (expensive) pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Delicious! Used fresh spinach and half almonds, half pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States