Spinach Alfredo Sauce (Better than Olive Garden®) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Very easy to make. I halved the recipe, used fresh spinach and added a bit of red pepper flakes. It was also a little thin for my taste so I added a little corn starch mixed with water and it ended up a great consistency. Didn't need to add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
ok, i substituted some ingredients- I used a handful of shredded co-jack cheese instead of the parmesan, as I didn't have any parmesan. I also subbed swiss chard instead of the spinach as I had a bag frozen, I thawed it and squeezed out the water before adding to the sauce. I also added mushrooms. I also added half a block of cream cheese. It needed pepper- (I added red pepper flakes) didn't have any of that either- but with all these substitutions it was still great! I'm sure it'd be 5 star with the original recipe! Next time I will make sure I have the parmesan and black pepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PT
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great and easy! Added random left over veggies and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a very quick and forgiving sauce. I had less than the needed amount of cream, so I added just a little more cream cheese. I also used some fresh spinach I had frozen for smoothies. I just followed the general instructions, added some left-over turkey breast from the night before, and served it over pasta for my husband and zucchini noodles for me. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow! I normally just take recipes I find online and tweak them to my liking. No need here, I did use garlic salt instead of the garlic powder and salt, but . . . Wow. I actually made an account just to add this recipe. Small tip, the 3/4 c of thawed spinach is just under a 9 oz package. Even if you had a 10 oz one, just use the whole thing so you don't have to bother measuring, turns out great too. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I thought this was just ok. Thinner than I expected and almost too salty; for all those calories, I wanted perfection. I did add red pepper flakes at the end and that perked up the flavor. There was a ton leftover, so maybe it'll taste better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Oh My WOW! This is most definitely better than Olive Garden or any other Alfredo sauce I've eaten. My 6 year old is the pickiest eater when it comes to pasta dishes and asked if we could have this again tomorrow night! I cut the butter down to 1/4 cup, used 1/2 to 3/4 of a block of cream cheese (store brand 1/3 less fat version) because of other reviewers stating that the sauce had been too thin, and I didn't use spinach for my first try. Served it over 3 cheese tortellini with chopped chicken and I will definitely be trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Easy and delish! There's no beating that combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Perfect way to get my little guy to eat spinach! This is a delicious creamy alfredo recipe that will be a keeper in my house. Went perfect with a salad and breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
My daughter enjoyed these very much! Simple to make. I used fresh spinach and I think I used 1 1/2 heavy cream (threw away my notes) and kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States