Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
AWESOME! My husbands family grew up in the greater Bing. area and he loves when we go to the "cabin" and get Speedies. I was thrilled when i stumbled across this recipe to be able to re-create this for him. I made them and took them camping. Super easy and super tasty. This will be a regular for us. I followed the recipe as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
MY HUSBAND IS ALSO FROM BINGHAMTOM AND I AM NOT-- HAVING THIS RECIPE MADE HIS DAY- THEY TURNED OUT AWESOME- I DID MARINATE FOR 5 DAYS- I ALSO DELETED THE MINT- AS I AM NOT A MINT LOVER- AND ADDED ONION POWDER IN ITS PLACE AS I HAD FOUND IN OTHER SPIEDIE RECIPES-- MY HUSBAND HAD THE WARM AND FUZZIES ALL EVENING AFTER EATING THEM-- THANKS SO MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
JOYBOWES you made my day! I have so many memories of summertime based around spiedies and salt potatoes being mostly raised in the same area of New York too...I have no idea why I never thought it could be possible to break this recipe down. I thought I'd be forever doomed to Salimedas State Fair bottle hoarding when I went there for visits. You get my first review, this really is a great recipe! On a side note...you'll appreaciate this, my boyfriend is from Long Island and I took him out upstate one summer and he found a spiedie booth and asked...whats a SPY_EDDIE? He fell in love with them too...not for the faint of heart. I'd say if you've never tried them only marinate them a day to see how powerful a kick you like, especially with small pieces of chicken it can be overwhelming to some. Wash it down with a cocktail? That helps too! Thanks again Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I went a little off course, squeezed a whole lemon, and divided it into 2 gallon containers, left the skin in the marinade, 1/2 cup fresh basil made this puppy sing. Instead of the mint, I added fresh rosemary, and did not use garlic salt. I did crush 2 more cloves of garlic before I minced them, and added sea salt. I also did one container with the white vinegar, and another with the red. With the red wine vinegar I was able to cook the meat to 160 which is standard anyway and keep the moisture intact, not to mention it was a little richer in flavor. I had rave reviews, and with the red wine vinegar ones people thought I stole Lupo's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
To be honest, I would give this 3 stars, but that's because I made the stupid mistake of making this with that hideous "lemon juice" that comes in the yellow plastic lemon-shaped squeezy thing. As a result, it had a weird nasty chemically disinfectant taste. Yuck. Other than that, this was ok. I'll make it again with real lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Spiedies are great. I tend to use fresh spices as opposed to the dried versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe and I know Binghamton is proud of their spiedies - but in acuality this is just another kind of shish kabob. I love shish kabob (or kabobs of any kind)and have collected quite a few marinades for them it. As a preference I prefer to eat this on a plate with grill onions and green peppers and then shake some hot sauce on it and serve it with a Tzatziki sauce. I use Tzatziki Sauce I from this site but there are quite a few that you can choose from. Just eating these plain on hero bread didn't do it for us -have to use some condiments! Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good flavor and perfect for summer grilling. Followed this recipe exactly as written. I marinated the chicken from Friday afternoon to Sunday evening and served on toasted hot dog buns. It was good without any condiments, as suggested by the submitter, but I think next time I will serve them with Cucumber Raita to make it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These were okay, don't know what all the hype is about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These were yummy! Made a 1/2 batch and left out mint (did not have) and marinated for 24 hours. They were flavorful and moist, just right. Will use the leftovers to top a salad tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States