Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These were okay, don't know what all the hype is about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
MY HUSBAND IS ALSO FROM BINGHAMTOM AND I AM NOT-- HAVING THIS RECIPE MADE HIS DAY- THEY TURNED OUT AWESOME- I DID MARINATE FOR 5 DAYS- I ALSO DELETED THE MINT- AS I AM NOT A MINT LOVER- AND ADDED ONION POWDER IN ITS PLACE AS I HAD FOUND IN OTHER SPIEDIE RECIPES-- MY HUSBAND HAD THE WARM AND FUZZIES ALL EVENING AFTER EATING THEM-- THANKS SO MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I live near Binghamton, New York and was tired of buying the bottled spiedie sauce. This recipe makes a delicious sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Having grown up in the Binghamton area, I've been eating spiedies all my life, but certainly not as often since moving away. These were very good, and thank you Joy for the recipe. I had a cookout yesterday and my guests loved them! The only change I will try next time is more garlic and black pepper, at least a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon. But all in all it was great to bring a little Binghamton to Philadelphia. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Awesome recipe and perfect as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
To be honest, I would give this 3 stars, but that's because I made the stupid mistake of making this with that hideous "lemon juice" that comes in the yellow plastic lemon-shaped squeezy thing. As a result, it had a weird nasty chemically disinfectant taste. Yuck. Other than that, this was ok. I'll make it again with real lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Yummy!used drumsticks, halved the oil & vinegar,no mint, marinated 24 hrs. will definately use again. so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAREC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
LOVED this recipe. Next time I'll use a little less lemon and vinegar but other than that it was great. I made shish kebabs with it and served it with orzo seasoned with Greek seasoning and lemon juice then topped with parmesan chese. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joelton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Made these the other night after they had marinated for a good 48 hours. Even though it was in the 20's outside my fiance grilled them. They were very good, very strong but good flavor. We didn't have the italian bread to make them authentic but they were still good. Next time I would definitely have some on hand - it would probably mellow them put a bit. But I love strong marinade flavor so I liked them without it. Thanks for the recipe. Never heard of them before. Will make again - probably in the summer when its warmer out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
JOYBOWES you made my day! I have so many memories of summertime based around spiedies and salt potatoes being mostly raised in the same area of New York too...I have no idea why I never thought it could be possible to break this recipe down. I thought I'd be forever doomed to Salimedas State Fair bottle hoarding when I went there for visits. You get my first review, this really is a great recipe! On a side note...you'll appreaciate this, my boyfriend is from Long Island and I took him out upstate one summer and he found a spiedie booth and asked...whats a SPY_EDDIE? He fell in love with them too...not for the faint of heart. I'd say if you've never tried them only marinate them a day to see how powerful a kick you like, especially with small pieces of chicken it can be overwhelming to some. Wash it down with a cocktail? That helps too! Thanks again Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States