Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
While I've never actually made this myself, my husband grew up 20 miles outside binghamton, NY and these were a staple for his family. When he moved out to CA, my the whole family talked about them. Well, my mother in law made this recipe, and OMG, they're right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callmemama83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My old next door neighbor grew up in the Endicott area and he used make these like twice a month. He used 'Lupo's' or 'State Fair' sauce --he even sent us some as a christmas gift after we moved! These are now a tradition in our family as well! Love em. this recipe is perfect! He taught us to serve them on sliced italian bread with roasted red peppers on top....YUMMY!!!!! I've used white wine and red wine vinegar before, & I usually leave out the mint, (just not a fan of it.)---very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I am only giving this a 3 because of operator error...lol...I overcooked my Spiedies! LOL....anyway....this is a great and very tasty marinade....I did marinate chunks of very lean, fatless, skinless pork.....they became very dry on the grill even though I marinated them for over 24 hours.....again because I overcooked them....the meat was tough.....I will try again and use chicken. Thanks for a tasty marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The flavor was good but these were very dry - and not from overcooking them. I could almost feel how dry they were when I put them on the skewers. I think it may be from the white vinegar. Next time I think I will try white wine vinegar or less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe made delicious chicken breasts which were served on a burger bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
better the next day. they made the fridge smell good but the taste was very lack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These are just like I remember growing up. Living in the South, these are a welcome treat. Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good! I adjusted the vinegar as suggested to make sure it wasn't too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
this was too good to be true. i'm from syracuse, ny so spiedies are a regular thing around here--- had family in town from rochester (1 1/2 hrs away) who hadn't heard of spiedies. my first attempt at making them myself-had them marinating for only one night and this was sooo good. only thing i found was that i used ziploc bags to marinate/hold chicken. used like 4 bags inside eachother and it STILL leaked. thought i was saving dishwasher space.. next time i will definately be using one of my pyrex containers. so that was my own fault :( will absolutely be making this over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Thank you for your recipe. These were like my mother in law made! My husband grew up in Binghamton area. His Grandparents lived on Maple St in Endicott for 60+ years. Speidies are truly a part of the culture in the area. We lived in the area for 13 yrs and I fell in love with them- ate them made from lamb, pork, chicken and venison. The challenge is finding the bread on the West Coast where we live now. Our five sons & daughter will be here this weekend with families and we are having or own Speidie Fest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Birdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States