Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good! I adjusted the vinegar as suggested to make sure it wasn't too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
this was too good to be true. i'm from syracuse, ny so spiedies are a regular thing around here--- had family in town from rochester (1 1/2 hrs away) who hadn't heard of spiedies. my first attempt at making them myself-had them marinating for only one night and this was sooo good. only thing i found was that i used ziploc bags to marinate/hold chicken. used like 4 bags inside eachother and it STILL leaked. thought i was saving dishwasher space.. next time i will definately be using one of my pyrex containers. so that was my own fault :( will absolutely be making this over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Thank you for your recipe. These were like my mother in law made! My husband grew up in Binghamton area. His Grandparents lived on Maple St in Endicott for 60+ years. Speidies are truly a part of the culture in the area. We lived in the area for 13 yrs and I fell in love with them- ate them made from lamb, pork, chicken and venison. The challenge is finding the bread on the West Coast where we live now. Our five sons & daughter will be here this weekend with families and we are having or own Speidie Fest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Birdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
AWESOME RECIPE! Thank you so much for sharing! Try this it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Yum! Great marinade-I only marinated for 24 hours (the oliva oil mixture was congealed after one night). The chicken was tender and flavorful. Also, I broiled these kabobs for 20 minutes on high in my oven as it was raining the night I made these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good flavor and perfect for summer grilling. Followed this recipe exactly as written. I marinated the chicken from Friday afternoon to Sunday evening and served on toasted hot dog buns. It was good without any condiments, as suggested by the submitter, but I think next time I will serve them with Cucumber Raita to make it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
WOW alot of garlic but oh so good served it with the easy greek yogurt cucumber sauce form here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Not 5 star good, but quite good. Soaked 2 days in the marinade. I admit, I skipped the mint also. We enjoyed the sandwich and the kids like the chicken skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Thank you soooooo much, when I saw the recipe I just got a big smile on my face.My husband and I are from that area and have been trying for years to make good spiedies and finally can. These are great and now we can share them with friends who have heard our stories about spiedies. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These were okay, don't know what all the hype is about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States