Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made this and used chicken breast chunks. I broiled them in the oven since is was raining outside. It was very tender and delicious! I let it marinate for 5 days. I've now made another batch but this time am using london broil chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dahlgren, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I didn't have any mint so I skipped it and it was really good. Too cold outside to grill so I baked the pieces at 350 for 30 minutes. My whole family, including two picky kids loved it. I marinated it for about 48 hours. I can't wait until I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My husband and I love these. The longer they marinate the better as far as we're concerned. We usually eat them with pita bread and hummus or tzatziki. This is one that I marinate early in the week and look forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
While I've never actually made this myself, my husband grew up 20 miles outside binghamton, NY and these were a staple for his family. When he moved out to CA, my the whole family talked about them. Well, my mother in law made this recipe, and OMG, they're right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callmemama83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My old next door neighbor grew up in the Endicott area and he used make these like twice a month. He used 'Lupo's' or 'State Fair' sauce --he even sent us some as a christmas gift after we moved! These are now a tradition in our family as well! Love em. this recipe is perfect! He taught us to serve them on sliced italian bread with roasted red peppers on top....YUMMY!!!!! I've used white wine and red wine vinegar before, & I usually leave out the mint, (just not a fan of it.)---very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I am only giving this a 3 because of operator error...lol...I overcooked my Spiedies! LOL....anyway....this is a great and very tasty marinade....I did marinate chunks of very lean, fatless, skinless pork.....they became very dry on the grill even though I marinated them for over 24 hours.....again because I overcooked them....the meat was tough.....I will try again and use chicken. Thanks for a tasty marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The flavor was good but these were very dry - and not from overcooking them. I could almost feel how dry they were when I put them on the skewers. I think it may be from the white vinegar. Next time I think I will try white wine vinegar or less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe made delicious chicken breasts which were served on a burger bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
better the next day. they made the fridge smell good but the taste was very lack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These are just like I remember growing up. Living in the South, these are a welcome treat. Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States