Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Spiedies are great. I tend to use fresh spices as opposed to the dried versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
AWESOME! My husbands family grew up in the greater Bing. area and he loves when we go to the "cabin" and get Speedies. I was thrilled when i stumbled across this recipe to be able to re-create this for him. I made them and took them camping. Super easy and super tasty. This will be a regular for us. I followed the recipe as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
My dad and I are pretty, well, bad at grilling chicken. But we teamed up with this one for last fourth of July and man - tasty! We were afraid of drying out the chicken so we laid an aluminum foil "tray" on the grill and poured the leftover marinade on them. Don't think you can just omit the bread part; I don't know why but it tastes really complete that way. I'd never had spiedies before but I certainly will again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Easily my favorite recipe I have ever found anywhere. It's a strange, powerful aroma that's nearly off-putting (You have large amounts of mint, lemon juice, vinegar, basil, and garlic--so of course it's an unusual and strong mix.), but the taste is just incredible and quite unlike anything else I've ever tasted. Another great thing about these is their versatility. The chicken pieces can be used in hot dog buns or hoagie rolls like the recipe suggests, but they are also delicious on pasta with simply oil or butter, on salads, on pesto pizzas, or even by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Fantastic! This is similar to a fancy restaurant version of souvlaki and the family loved it. I marinated the chicken for 2 days, and also tried it with some beef. The flavour was very good. I was a bit hesitant about the mint as I have never used mint in cooking, but it added a subtle touch and was not at all overdone. I served the meal with Spicy Yogurt Dip on the side, and a salad. Thanks for sharing! * the last time I made this I didn't have any mint, so I used organic spearmint tea and the flavour was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
JOYBOWES you made my day! I have so many memories of summertime based around spiedies and salt potatoes being mostly raised in the same area of New York too...I have no idea why I never thought it could be possible to break this recipe down. I thought I'd be forever doomed to Salimedas State Fair bottle hoarding when I went there for visits. You get my first review, this really is a great recipe! On a side note...you'll appreaciate this, my boyfriend is from Long Island and I took him out upstate one summer and he found a spiedie booth and asked...whats a SPY_EDDIE? He fell in love with them too...not for the faint of heart. I'd say if you've never tried them only marinate them a day to see how powerful a kick you like, especially with small pieces of chicken it can be overwhelming to some. Wash it down with a cocktail? That helps too! Thanks again Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Coming from the Greater Binghamton area, We LOVE spiedies! This is a great recipe. Many restuarants in our area have built off from the original recipes and added condiments to create dozens of different versions, but the original versions are our pride and joy. Thanks so much for adding this as I didn't have time to throw my own recipe on here to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deposit, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Having been born and raised in the Binghamton, NY area, I'm very familiar with Spiedies. The best ones were cooked over a small grill outside of small taverns on the north side of Endicott, NY (a stone's throw from Binghamton). Fresh herbs do not make a "real" spiedie, you must use dried for the authentic taste, and if it's not served on a slice of fresh Italian bread, again, it's not a spiedie. All of that said, this is a good recipe though the best are made with the Spiedie sauces made in the Binghamton area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
LOVED this recipe. Next time I'll use a little less lemon and vinegar but other than that it was great. I made shish kebabs with it and served it with orzo seasoned with Greek seasoning and lemon juice then topped with parmesan chese. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joelton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Yummy!used drumsticks, halved the oil & vinegar,no mint, marinated 24 hrs. will definately use again. so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAREC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manchester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States