Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I went a little off course, squeezed a whole lemon, and divided it into 2 gallon containers, left the skin in the marinade, 1/2 cup fresh basil made this puppy sing. Instead of the mint, I added fresh rosemary, and did not use garlic salt. I did crush 2 more cloves of garlic before I minced them, and added sea salt. I also did one container with the white vinegar, and another with the red. With the red wine vinegar I was able to cook the meat to 160 which is standard anyway and keep the moisture intact, not to mention it was a little richer in flavor. I had rave reviews, and with the red wine vinegar ones people thought I stole Lupo's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My husband grew up around Binghamton area. He loved it. Said it taste exactly like the flavor back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Love Love Love And Im not from N.Y It is such an unusual taste.I find it to be a great change from the same old things .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was excellent and tasted as I remembered them from NYS. We cooked them on George Forman and they were not dry. I didn't change a thing for the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Wonderful!! I had never had a spiedie before but my husband wanted me to make them for him. This is the first recipe I tried and the only ingredient change I made was to use onion powder instead of the mint. My husband tried a bite and said..."this is exactly what they should taste like". Score!! He likes to have a little juice with his meat, so instead of grilling I sauted the chicken in my wok with a little extra sauce. It worked just fine! I also cut the meat small and it only sat for 5 hours. It flavored the meat well in that short of time although next time I will definitely use a full day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADKgal
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was delicious and just the recipe I needed. I followed it except for the cooking. I cut the chicken into large cubes, marinated one day, and baked at 350F for seven minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made this and used chicken breast chunks. I broiled them in the oven since is was raining outside. It was very tender and delicious! I let it marinate for 5 days. I've now made another batch but this time am using london broil chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dahlgren, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I didn't have any mint so I skipped it and it was really good. Too cold outside to grill so I baked the pieces at 350 for 30 minutes. My whole family, including two picky kids loved it. I marinated it for about 48 hours. I can't wait until I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My husband and I love these. The longer they marinate the better as far as we're concerned. We usually eat them with pita bread and hummus or tzatziki. This is one that I marinate early in the week and look forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
While I've never actually made this myself, my husband grew up 20 miles outside binghamton, NY and these were a staple for his family. When he moved out to CA, my the whole family talked about them. Well, my mother in law made this recipe, and OMG, they're right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callmemama83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States