Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
reminded me of going to my aunts house near Binghamton when I was younger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I love spiedies! I am so grateful for this recipe. I am from the greater Binghamton and grew up eating them. I've used this with pork tenderloin and chicken. So, so good. It's a little taste of home in Indiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These were yummy! Made a 1/2 batch and left out mint (did not have) and marinated for 24 hours. They were flavorful and moist, just right. Will use the leftovers to top a salad tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I am originally froom Central NY, Cortland, and now live in Florida. No one has ever heard of Spiedies or the NY State Spiedie Sauce. We have had visitors bring a gallon to us. I love everyones comments. Anxious to make this in time for The SuperBowl. I too have marinated for 5 days and gives you a big punch. LOVE this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie345

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I went a little off course, squeezed a whole lemon, and divided it into 2 gallon containers, left the skin in the marinade, 1/2 cup fresh basil made this puppy sing. Instead of the mint, I added fresh rosemary, and did not use garlic salt. I did crush 2 more cloves of garlic before I minced them, and added sea salt. I also did one container with the white vinegar, and another with the red. With the red wine vinegar I was able to cook the meat to 160 which is standard anyway and keep the moisture intact, not to mention it was a little richer in flavor. I had rave reviews, and with the red wine vinegar ones people thought I stole Lupo's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My husband grew up around Binghamton area. He loved it. Said it taste exactly like the flavor back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Love Love Love And Im not from N.Y It is such an unusual taste.I find it to be a great change from the same old things .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was excellent and tasted as I remembered them from NYS. We cooked them on George Forman and they were not dry. I didn't change a thing for the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Wonderful!! I had never had a spiedie before but my husband wanted me to make them for him. This is the first recipe I tried and the only ingredient change I made was to use onion powder instead of the mint. My husband tried a bite and said..."this is exactly what they should taste like". Score!! He likes to have a little juice with his meat, so instead of grilling I sauted the chicken in my wok with a little extra sauce. It worked just fine! I also cut the meat small and it only sat for 5 hours. It flavored the meat well in that short of time although next time I will definitely use a full day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADKgal
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was delicious and just the recipe I needed. I followed it except for the cooking. I cut the chicken into large cubes, marinated one day, and baked at 350F for seven minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States