Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
my family is from Endicott and we have had these for 50 years at least, with one exception, they were always made from lamb, never chicken but since I can't get a leg of lamb where I live now, chicken is the next best thing! they are so goooooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I grew up in Endicott NY and my mother made spiedies all the time. She had acquired the recipe from a friend who was from Italy and settled in Endicott. I feel pretty sure her recipe was authentic. This is the closed recipe I have seen to hers. The main difference I noticed is her recipe called for 1.5 cups of oil to 1/2 cup vinegar. I do not marinate chicken for more than 4 hrs because the vinegar and lemon juice actually cook the meat. We always had them on Italian Bread. Bon Appetit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I grew up in Endicott, NY just outside of Binghamton. Spiedies represent summertime to me. I left Broome Country many years ago and didn;t eenjoy spiedies often for many years. In recent years my sister mpved back up north and sends me Lupo's original spiedie sauce a couple of times per year but that never last long around our house. This recipe is great and helps us get through summer down south! Use fresh herbs and don't omit the mint if you want to taste them as they were meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe for spiedies! I love spiedie salads and I was thrilled when I found this recipe. Now I can make them at home anytime and I use fresh ingredients from the garden when I can. Absolutely delicious as written! I also love how versatile this is. I sometimes add red pepper flakes or some minced cayenne or jalapeno pepper for a little kick! Thank you so much for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I first tried Spedies from a Roadside Vendor on Rt 17 just outside Binghamton.Then I found Loupos in Endicott.These were great. Made them at home & they turned out wonderful.They are well worth making.Everyone loved them.Marinade them,grill them, eat them on a sub or hogie roll.I saved the marinade,cooked it on the stove, and drizzled the sauce on the meat.Instead of using White Vinegar in the recipe,I use White Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yummy, I made this w/fresh herbs, more lomen juice, no garlic salt, and no mint (didn't have any) and marinated chicken breast pieces for 48 hours. Really good, and much healthier then the bottled kind. Trying it again this weekend and sticking closer to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
reminded me of going to my aunts house near Binghamton when I was younger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I love spiedies! I am so grateful for this recipe. I am from the greater Binghamton and grew up eating them. I've used this with pork tenderloin and chicken. So, so good. It's a little taste of home in Indiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These were yummy! Made a 1/2 batch and left out mint (did not have) and marinated for 24 hours. They were flavorful and moist, just right. Will use the leftovers to top a salad tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I am originally froom Central NY, Cortland, and now live in Florida. No one has ever heard of Spiedies or the NY State Spiedie Sauce. We have had visitors bring a gallon to us. I love everyones comments. Anxious to make this in time for The SuperBowl. I too have marinated for 5 days and gives you a big punch. LOVE this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie345

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States