Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe for spiedies! I love spiedie salads and I was thrilled when I found this recipe. Now I can make them at home anytime and I use fresh ingredients from the garden when I can. Absolutely delicious as written! I also love how versatile this is. I sometimes add red pepper flakes or some minced cayenne or jalapeno pepper for a little kick! Thank you so much for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I first tried Spedies from a Roadside Vendor on Rt 17 just outside Binghamton.Then I found Loupos in Endicott.These were great. Made them at home & they turned out wonderful.They are well worth making.Everyone loved them.Marinade them,grill them, eat them on a sub or hogie roll.I saved the marinade,cooked it on the stove, and drizzled the sauce on the meat.Instead of using White Vinegar in the recipe,I use White Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yummy, I made this w/fresh herbs, more lomen juice, no garlic salt, and no mint (didn't have any) and marinated chicken breast pieces for 48 hours. Really good, and much healthier then the bottled kind. Trying it again this weekend and sticking closer to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
reminded me of going to my aunts house near Binghamton when I was younger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I love spiedies! I am so grateful for this recipe. I am from the greater Binghamton and grew up eating them. I've used this with pork tenderloin and chicken. So, so good. It's a little taste of home in Indiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These were yummy! Made a 1/2 batch and left out mint (did not have) and marinated for 24 hours. They were flavorful and moist, just right. Will use the leftovers to top a salad tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I am originally froom Central NY, Cortland, and now live in Florida. No one has ever heard of Spiedies or the NY State Spiedie Sauce. We have had visitors bring a gallon to us. I love everyones comments. Anxious to make this in time for The SuperBowl. I too have marinated for 5 days and gives you a big punch. LOVE this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie345

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I went a little off course, squeezed a whole lemon, and divided it into 2 gallon containers, left the skin in the marinade, 1/2 cup fresh basil made this puppy sing. Instead of the mint, I added fresh rosemary, and did not use garlic salt. I did crush 2 more cloves of garlic before I minced them, and added sea salt. I also did one container with the white vinegar, and another with the red. With the red wine vinegar I was able to cook the meat to 160 which is standard anyway and keep the moisture intact, not to mention it was a little richer in flavor. I had rave reviews, and with the red wine vinegar ones people thought I stole Lupo's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My husband grew up around Binghamton area. He loved it. Said it taste exactly like the flavor back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Love Love Love And Im not from N.Y It is such an unusual taste.I find it to be a great change from the same old things .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States