Spider Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Very cute ! Fun. Black Shoe Lace Licorice ! GOOD LUCK FINDING- This is what I did and found (licorice wheels unroll and pulled the two strings apart also pull apart licorice in the Berry (dark purple Color) Black not available. If you want to know more on WHY YOU CAN'T HARDLY FIND BLACK SHOE LACE LICORICE READ BELOW: In regards to the Black Shoe Lace Licorice. I called over 20 stores in my area and visited serveral with no avail. I ended up Calling Kraft, Hershey, Farley Sanders etc. to find out what the deal was. They don't make it anymore and gave me a number in my state to check with smaller a candy Company. They inturn helped me find the product. GOOD LUCK ! The customer service depts at the big candy makers said they would put in their 2 cents for selling it around Halloween/ fall because various RECEIPES and PROJECTS CALL FOR IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
These are pretty cute to make. I suggest inserting the licorice into the cupcakes before frosting them...it made it so much easier this way. Also, I couldn't find black licorice ropes so I used red Twizzlers Pull and Peel. Next time I'll use decorators gel and add 2 dots for nostrils for the spiders nose. I couldn't find orange crystals so I just tinted the white frosting orange and it looked fine. Recommended for Halloween parties for sure!! I hope the kids enjoy these at my son's school party!!! Thanks for posting this Heatherly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I found it SO HELPFUL to prepare everything & lay it all out the counter in sections before beginning to decorate. Saved so much trouble of trying to stick my messy hand that would occasionally touch icing into a bag of candy! I also used regular black licorice; HOWEVER, they do NOT transfer easy if you're using one of those cupcake carriers to take them somewhere. The legs get in the way, so you lose a lot of space & I cut the licorice super short! :) SO... I made half spider cupcakes & then half the bat cupcakes (from this site). That way, there was only a spider cupcake every other space which made it easier to stick them in whatever pan you have. The skinny licorice stuck on the sides of the cupcakes instead of on top did help them stay on longer. Try the bat cupcakes b/c they're equally cute! I like the idea of just using black piping to create the full long leg look too. I mean...who likes to eat black licorice anyway? Oh wait, my husband ...but most people don't ;) Have fun with these and use different colored icing or even try a cupcake recipe (on this site) that has something gooey in the middle like peanut butter. They can be guts of the spider
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe was very fun to make with my granddaughter. I used the black vines and cut in thirds, then cut those thirds lengthwise. They legslooked hairy and as a bonus you get 6 legs out of one vine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love the idea for the cupcakes. Another good one you young ladies might try is meatballs set in a glass dish of deep red tomato sauce (I'd added red food color). Use carrot or pickle strips for legs, olive slices for eyes. etc. Place them in a long narrow dish with parsley sprigs for trees and bushes. I'm 75 and when my husband was alive, we came up with all kinds of crazy stuff. Friends would drop by just to see what we'd thought up. They really liked our big fat "bugs". Would love to be able to do that stuff again. I think my daughter in Washougal, WA. got the urge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Excellent & fun to make. I bought all my ingredients for the toppings at the bulk barn. (Black shoestring licorice sold there also - prepackaged) The licorice pieces can be inserted right into the sides of the iced cupcakes to ensure the 'legs' won't fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
These were so fun to make and my daughter's pre-k class LOVED them! I was able to find the black twizzlers at CVS, but they were way too heavy. So instead I used pretzel sticks for the legs!! They were sooo cute! Thanks for such a cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa K
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was a lot of fun to make and my adult friends loved it. We used red licorice instead, no one liked the black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made these cute little cupcakes for my Church's Halloween party. Everyone loved them and gobbled them up. For the icing I just made a basic buttercream frosting and used food coloring to make it orange. It worked well and they were a hit. Thank you for posting them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Very cute idea. I also could not find black shoe string licorice. The red kind worked well and matched the eyes. I liked that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States