Spider Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
These are pretty cute to make. I suggest inserting the licorice into the cupcakes before frosting them...it made it so much easier this way. Also, I couldn't find black licorice ropes so I used red Twizzlers Pull and Peel. Next time I'll use decorators gel and add 2 dots for nostrils for the spiders nose. I couldn't find orange crystals so I just tinted the white frosting orange and it looked fine. Recommended for Halloween parties for sure!! I hope the kids enjoy these at my son's school party!!! Thanks for posting this Heatherly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This is an adorable cupcake. I went to 4 different stores to find black shoestring licorice, and I could not find it anywhere. So I used red licorice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Excellent & fun to make. I bought all my ingredients for the toppings at the bulk barn. (Black shoestring licorice sold there also - prepackaged) The licorice pieces can be inserted right into the sides of the iced cupcakes to ensure the 'legs' won't fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Very cute idea. I also could not find black shoe string licorice. The red kind worked well and matched the eyes. I liked that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Very cute ! Fun. Black Shoe Lace Licorice ! GOOD LUCK FINDING- This is what I did and found (licorice wheels unroll and pulled the two strings apart also pull apart licorice in the Berry (dark purple Color) Black not available. If you want to know more on WHY YOU CAN'T HARDLY FIND BLACK SHOE LACE LICORICE READ BELOW: In regards to the Black Shoe Lace Licorice. I called over 20 stores in my area and visited serveral with no avail. I ended up Calling Kraft, Hershey, Farley Sanders etc. to find out what the deal was. They don't make it anymore and gave me a number in my state to check with smaller a candy Company. They inturn helped me find the product. GOOD LUCK ! The customer service depts at the big candy makers said they would put in their 2 cents for selling it around Halloween/ fall because various RECEIPES and PROJECTS CALL FOR IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These were so easy and cute. I couldn't find black licorice but found grape which was pretty dark at No Frills. Also I put in red or black jelly beans for the eyes and no orange sugar. A success for my daughters kindergarten party I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
These were really cute!I made them for a class of mine and evryone thought they were adorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETPEA80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made these cute little cupcakes for my Church's Halloween party. Everyone loved them and gobbled them up. For the icing I just made a basic buttercream frosting and used food coloring to make it orange. It worked well and they were a hit. Thank you for posting them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
clever and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I just started cooking this month and I work at a rock and roll bar, and I made these one night for the patrons, and they went over really well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States