Spider Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love the idea for the cupcakes. Another good one you young ladies might try is meatballs set in a glass dish of deep red tomato sauce (I'd added red food color). Use carrot or pickle strips for legs, olive slices for eyes. etc. Place them in a long narrow dish with parsley sprigs for trees and bushes. I'm 75 and when my husband was alive, we came up with all kinds of crazy stuff. Friends would drop by just to see what we'd thought up. They really liked our big fat "bugs". Would love to be able to do that stuff again. I think my daughter in Washougal, WA. got the urge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made these for a Halloween party and couldn't be happier with the results. Easy to make and went together quickly. Was able to find supplies at the local cake decor shop and had no trouble putting everything together. I did not use candy corn or cinnamon hots - just M & Ms. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My co workers loved these! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
everyone loved these; but you will need to find SHOESTRING licorice!! (or cut twizzlers in half)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amanda*~
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
super fun to make! i used twizlers pull and peel licorice and cut them into 3 segments per rope, and made matching red icing for eyes and fangs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I recently made these cute cupcakes for a party and they were such a hit. I made them with chocolate cake mix, chocolate icing, chocolate sprinkles, red hots for eyes, and black licorice for legs. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
loved these! they turned out wicked cute! i used both red licorice on some and red shoe string licorice for the others. I used choc frosting and choc sprinkles on top. The cinnamon eyes were adorable w/the candy corn fangs. I made one at a time so the frosting wouldn't harden. My high school students still loved these! Easy to make. Will be my new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateso

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gorham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
i found black licorice at A.C. Moore; Wilton the cake/candy decorating company sells it. Also I have a similar recipe but die the icing green and put licoricie in for legs and put an oreo on top of that; then take some tinted green icing and put 2 dots on the cookie and put green M&M's on the icing to make it look like eyes; you can use the red licorice too if you can't find the black but stores that sell Wilton products would have it in the seasonal display section. also I got package of sprinkles shaped like bats, witches hats and candy eyes could use too; would not use Red Hots as kids don't like them and neither do many adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Black licorace laces can be found at www.vermontcountrystore.com. There are stores in Vermont or available online in 2 lb. bags. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
These were a hit at my husbands work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States