Spicy and Creamy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Added a couple of sliced & browned sausages. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I live in a household of picky eaters....EVERYONE LOVED IT!! One of the BEST SOUPS i have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed the directions almost exactly. I substituted a can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream, and used a tablespoon of Italian seasoning in place of the parsley, thyme, and rosemary. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT in the HAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skagway, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is delicious.. only change I made was to use sour cream instead of heavy cream. My canned tomatoes had diced jalepenos and it made for a really nice spiciness, but not overwhelming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was really, really good. The only changes I made were instead of the Rotel, I used fresh tomatoes and green peppers, and Frank's Hot Sauce. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. Absolutely delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This soup was a nice change of pace for us. Love all of those fresh veggies! The broth is excellent, and the trio of dill, thyme, and rosemary works wonderfully in this recipe. A few tweaks, I used about 1/2 lb hot italian sausage, browned and removed from the pot to be added back later. I just eyeballed the amount of veggies, and probably ended up doubling most. I sauteed the sliced mushroom with the onion/celery/carrot mix, sauteed in the sausage drippings, and used low sodium chicken broth, about 8 cups total. I also used a bit more heavy cream, and celery salt to season. A nice summer-into-fall soup! Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My husband scolded me for having been married to him for the last 7 years and never serving this to him before. He said it was the best soup I have ever made. Thanks for a fantastic recipe! Alterations: I didn't have celery, green beans or mushrooms on hand, but it was still good. I did have 1/2 cup dry lentils, so I threw them in at the same time as the potatoes to add heartiness since I was missing some ingredients. I also added some salt--not sure how much as I did it to taste, but it was quite a bit. The soup was quite spicy, so I added a little milk to the kids' bowls after I served it, which also helped with the temperature for them. Hubby and I ate it and lived it full strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States