Spicy Yellow Rice and Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made this recipe so many times that we had to make a point to take a break from it. It's great if you're looking for something very quick and easy to make for dinner. The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly and it was tasty, but I always find that recipes never have enough spice for my liking. Now I usually amp things up with a few jalapenos or cayenne peppers and only one bell pepper, and I usually throw some cajun seasoning into the yellow rice as it cooks. Using hot salsa of course adds more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Spicy Yellow Rice & Smoked Sausage Haiku: "Title's misleading. Depends on type of salsa. But it was still good." I was actually surprised that this turned out tasty (like a Southern stir-fry w/ the nice flavor and moisture addition of salsa - didn't really see the point to that tiny bit of Italian Seasoning, but I used it anyways.) Made mine w/ basmati rice (crushed a little saffron in it, in the hopes that it'd turn yellow, but oh well, rice is rice.) As salsa is pretty much the main flavor addition, I can only imagine that this recipe could be blah as can be, or kicky, or tame, all depending on what type of salsa one uses. The instructions and timing were pretty dead-on, so for a quick meal, I'd call it a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
It was just very plain..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was really tasty and easy to make! I did change it by using only one bell pepper and one onion, which was more than plenty, I can't imagine using four bell peppers and two onions, it would have been way too much! I also used only 8 oz of the 16 oz jar of salsa, which seemed perfect to us. I think it would have been even better with fresh salsa. My husband loved it, we will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I added homemade sofrito and used Goya Adobo seasoning instead of italian seasoning. Also added chopped cilantro at end for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
More of a 3.5 rating - this was good, but I think next time I'll work on the seasoning and use can tomoatoes instead of the salsa. Overall the meal was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was so yummy! Pure comfort food. I was surprised at how flavorful it was since it has such simple ingredients. This is my new favorite way to eat smoked sausage! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
A very quick, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
OMG...awesome.I was a little uncertain, but LOVE it. only thing I did differently was add 3 jalapeño peppers and used basmati rice...wow, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HMEDELL
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was looking for something fast for dinner and found this recipe. I didn't have everything on hand (no yellow rice or red bell pepper) but it tasted great with white rice and the flavored sausage I had on hand. In fact, my two picky kids even liked it. My husband loved it. So, looks like we'll be making again. Since the sausage I used was already flavored, I nixed the Italian seasoning; I thought it would have been overkill with the sausage and salsa spices. I'll try to find yellow rice for next time though I may end up just using white rice again but cooking it with chicken broth to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HMEDELL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States